View Full Version : Sydney monthly meeting on 22/05/2003
yuch.
06-05-2003, 09:58 AM
Hi everyone,
Our first Sydney monthly meeting will be held on 22/05/2003 at P. J Gallghers Irish Pub at 7:30pm.
The meeting will be in P. J Gallghers' "Garden Brassrie".
As booking is required one week in advance, I will need to know how many people are turning up. Please reply to this thread by 14/05/2003, so I can make the reservation.
PS. P. J Gallghers have their Thursday night Happy Hour from 8:30pm to 9:30pm. :D
Hi Yuch
Provide the map to Parramatta and I'll try and get there:)
investor
07-05-2003, 01:45 AM
THURSDAY ????
XBenX
07-05-2003, 10:01 AM
Parramatta ?
Can we make it Canberra ? I think its closer to the CBD:P
There is less traffic lights anyhow :)
I cant make it :/
Originally posted by XBenX
Parramatta ?
Can we make it Canberra ? I think its closer to the CBD:P
There is less traffic lights anyhow :)
Same here - I live in Artarmon, and there is a sum total of 1 (one !!!) set of traffic lights between me and Canberra - and that is to actually get onto the freeway at Artarmon !
I've lost track of how many there are between here and Parramatta :p
While Parramatta may be the geographical center of Sydney, I would suggest it is by no means the demographical center for Property Investors. Not that I'm suggesting I know where that would be, but I suspect it would be slightly closer to the city. But you are organising this Yuch, and if you want Parramatta, then so be it.
rossv
07-05-2003, 05:41 PM
count me in yuch,
rossv
G'day Yuch,
Me too - but a map, please (I'm a foreigner.... ;) )
geoffw
07-05-2003, 08:31 PM
Originally posted by rossv
count me in yuch,
rossv Ross,
Does that mean you will have the gutted Wagga unit finished by then? Great job!
(sorry to disappoint people... a Thursday means I can not get up from Canberra .. :mad: )
perky29
08-05-2003, 08:42 AM
Working that night, bummer......
yuch.
08-05-2003, 05:45 PM
Peoples,
Believe me, it's hard to please everyone organising meetings like this.
Apparently, some people prefer week nights and others prefer weekends. And when it comes to location, there are even more opinions.
For our May Monthly Meeting, let's keep it as it is, P J Gallaghers in Parramatta. For June Monthly Meeting, we can do it somewhere in/close to the city on a weekend. This way, we get to try both options and then we can decide what we want to do with our meetings.
Everyone is welcome to make a suggestion to when and where to meet, but bear in mind that, meeting in the city on weeknights for people who have to drive into town, parking is a problem.
XBenX
09-05-2003, 10:06 AM
Broadway is free for the first 2 or 3 hours
Other than that after 6 weekdaysmost places have ~$10 flat rates
The casino is also very cheap parking.... and has lots of tables/chairs etc.... near the bistro area.... might be a suggestion for the next meeting
And all the street parking is free after 6pm
Originally posted by yuch.
Peoples,
Believe me, it's hard to please everyone organising meetings like this.
Apparently, some people prefer week nights and others prefer weekends. And when it comes to location, there are even more opinions.
For our May Monthly Meeting, let's keep it as it is, P J Gallaghers in Parramatta. For June Monthly Meeting, we can do it somewhere in/close to the city on a weekend. This way, we get to try both options and then we can decide what we want to do with our meetings.
Everyone is welcome to make a suggestion to when and where to meet, but bear in mind that, meeting in the city on weeknights for people who have to drive into town, parking is a problem.
investor
09-05-2003, 10:01 PM
Originally posted by XBenX
The casino is also very cheap parking.... and has lots of tables/chairs etc.... near the bistro area.... might be a suggestion for the next meeting
I like the idea of the casino for the next meeting :)
Investor :)
petercro
13-05-2003, 12:36 PM
hi yuch
you can count me in
are there any costs involved?
as i am a new forumite, what are the meetings about?
peter
yuch.
13-05-2003, 01:04 PM
Hi Peter,
You pay for your own food and drinks. Other than these, there is no other costs involved.
See you there. :)
Nick 69
13-05-2003, 01:37 PM
Said this to the last thread, but since things have been set since then I'll di it again, I'll be in for 2.
Aikido
13-05-2003, 01:43 PM
Where is PJ Gallagher?
What is the address?
yuch.
13-05-2003, 07:18 PM
Hi peoples,
P. J Gallgher's address is:
74 Church St, Parramatta. 2150
It's on the corner of Church St and Parkes St.
Tried to attach the map here but can't figure out how, so just in case you can't see what I attached here is the link:
http://www.whereis.com.au/search/result.jhtml?_DARGS=%2Fsearch%2Fsearch.jhtml.2
/forums/photopost/data/506/336map13917.gif
[ EDIT: moved image to photo gallery and replaced with image link - Sim' ]
frankk
14-05-2003, 11:12 AM
I'd like to book a place for me.
Thank you & regards,
Frank.
I'd also like to book a place if its not too late.
Maureen
yuch.
16-05-2003, 08:15 PM
Maureen,
One extra person is ok. We will squeez you in. :)
G'day Yuch,
Sorry, mate - last minute change - scratch one from your list.
I will be heading for BNE that night. Sudden change of plans. See you at the next one,
18-05-2003, 05:50 PM
Either jas or I will take that spare spot!
handyandy
18-05-2003, 06:44 PM
Hi Yuch
I'll be there
cya
yuch.
19-05-2003, 04:12 PM
Well. One extra person, we will squeez you in! :)
NickM
20-05-2003, 09:48 PM
Hi Yuch
Sorry for the late RSVP.
Been out of action for a while
i will be there around 8pm or so
Thanks Nick
Tibor
21-05-2003, 04:41 AM
Hi Yuch,
I'll try to make it, only thing is better half's shopping arrangements, but might be able to give a miss to it.
Tibor
giraffe
22-05-2003, 02:18 PM
Ooops ! If it's not too late please include me !
yuch.
22-05-2003, 03:04 PM
Alrrrrrrrrrrrright.
Only this time!
See you there.
cornflower
22-05-2003, 03:10 PM
Yooooochhh
Can U count me in pleesse.
(I will ring and change the booking if this is putting you to too much trouble, just let me know)
I thought I was going to have to work, but wiggled my way out of it!
Jacque - thanks for the offer but I will be coming straight from the office.
: )
Cornflower
XBenX
23-05-2003, 01:03 PM
how did we go ?
Jacque
23-05-2003, 02:20 PM
Thanks Yuch for organising last night!
Though it was a weeknight and an earlier bedtime was called for, 'twas still enjoyable to meet some new faces and have a good catch up. Great to meet some of the regulars like Tibor and HandyAndy for the first time as well.
I, for one, am in favour of a regular get together- though an inside venue would be preferred in Winter- still scraping the ice chunks off my boots today :) (only joking!)
I do think we should come up with a name for our regular group meeting- How about it, gang? Any suggestions?
XBenX
23-05-2003, 03:23 PM
how about Sydney Sommersoft
nice little bit of alliteration
although it would mean we would have to actually meet in Sydney this time :P
just jokes
how about we make the casino the next meeting - easy for ppl to get to that work in the city
cheap parking for those that drive
free room hire
cheap food (its some what edible)
yuch.
23-05-2003, 04:29 PM
Yes, it was cold last night!!!
I did ring up to find out if they have outdoor heaters and the answer was positive, they just forgot to tell me that a lot of them are not in a working order!!! :/
The meeting was still good though. :)
Thanks for coming. We actually had more people turned up than I expected!! :)
The biggest geographic group were from Bankstown, so I reckon we should hold it there next time!
I had a great time last night, and wore enough layers to be warm (unlike Rolf who sat and shivered).
Jas
handyandy
23-05-2003, 05:05 PM
Hi all
Great night!!! Thanks Yuch for organising it.
It was great meeting everybody and being able to put faces to names. Mind you I still didn't pick up everybodies actual names.
Look forward to the next meeting around "Bankstown" ;) and the place must have parking available. :D
yuch.
23-05-2003, 05:14 PM
Give us some suggestions on where to go in Bankstown then. :)
Tibor
24-05-2003, 07:40 AM
Yuch,
Thanks for organising it, it was great night in spite of the cold and I've fully enjoyed to talk to other Forumites.
Looking forward next month's meeting where it is held in Bankstown. Only request that nearby would be enough free parking possibility.
Tibor
Belated thanks from me Yuch
A great night
Thinks we should call ourselves S.I.C !
ani
24-05-2003, 09:02 PM
Yuch,
Bankstown Sports Club is good.
Also you could consider Revesby Workers Club - a bit further but has child care....
(So does Burwood RSL)
geoffw
25-05-2003, 06:42 AM
Originally posted by ani
Thinks we should call ourselves S.I.C !Sydney Property Investors Club (SPIC)?
Then if Peter Spann came along, it would be...
Kathryn
25-05-2003, 09:59 AM
Sydney Property Investors Club (SPIC)?
Then if Peter Spann came along, it would be...
:D Good one geoffw! Haven't heard that one since my childhood (many years ago). Did you have that product here too? Or were you just referring to the saying?
Kathryn
geoffw
25-05-2003, 10:02 AM
Just the saying Kathryn- though it vaguely rings a bell.
Kathryn
25-05-2003, 10:34 AM
"Spic n Span" was a floor cleaner in America....came in an orange box (powder form) with a mop and bucket on the front I think, with a sparkling floor. Haven't heard of it in years but it may still be around over there.
Kathryn
I don't want to be sick thanks - spic is ok thou!
Jas
NickM
25-05-2003, 01:42 PM
SPIC sounds neat.
Great to meet new people and good to see young guys like Giraffe coming along to meet some investors and hopefully pick up some pointers along the way.
Revesby workers club has some good function rooms and heaps of parking as does Bankstown sports club
i am happy to enquire about the RWC as it is around the corner from me if someone else wants to volunteer the same about the Bankstown sports club
Do we have any idea on the next date ?
NIckM
dtraeger2k
25-05-2003, 07:52 PM
Why not just call it the Sydney Property Club... I kind of like that ad on TV "Goodness me, it's SPC" :p
geoffw
25-05-2003, 09:25 PM
I'm from Shepparton... SPC implies Shepparton Preserving Company- the company wot makes the fruit.
Shepparton is the place my own dad learnt his toolmaking trade (before advancing into bookselling)- and incidentally did well by a financial advisor's advice to buy commercial property (shops built on a well-located empty piece of land).
Off topic, sorry- but nice to know that there are (were?) financial advisors who really did well for their clients.
yuch.
26-05-2003, 11:20 AM
This is off the topic as well.
Somewehere I read about SPC not long ago..
At one stage SPC went bankrupt and was handed over to administrators. At the time, they were having a lot of problems between the management and the employees.
The management decided that if they don't resolve the issues with the workers the company will cease existing very soon. (or they realised it's the only way out.)
So the management team called a meeting with all the workers in the company and came to an agreement with the workers on how the employees should be managed. And all the workers realised that if they don't work with the management, the company will fold and no one has a job.
I have seen enough bad managements in my company, just thought that this is a good story to share with you all.
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.