Sunshine Coast

A friend of mine is looking to move to the Sunshine Coast, anyone help out with tips on where is good to buy? She has a budget of up to 400K.

Buderim is pretty good also coolum experienced strongest growth in the recent boom. 330 - 400k is entry point for Buderim.

If you want to go cheaper you can still get houses in Nambour for about 250k. Nambour is inland and sort of country compared to more coastal areas. A straight buy in any of these areas does not really show very good yields. Long term anywhere around the coast I think will do well, buderim, Maroochydore, Mooloolaba etc

Cheers Panda

Thanks for that Panda, she is actually looking to move there, it's not for a rental so yield isn't important. I'll pass on your recommendations to her.

Hi Mark, I was in the Sunshine Coast last weekend, what a great part of the world your friend is moving to !

Had a quick look at Perigian Springs (dont think I spelt it correctly), a very nice upmarket new estate, could be worth checking out, it's not right near the water though.

I was impressed with the area from Marcoola (near the Airport) up to Noosa, I think there has been a softening of prices there and from what I saw in the agents windows that I saw your friend should get good value for 400k.

KI

Mark, I thought your friend might also like to know Herron Todd White reports state that the Sunshine Coast has bottomed out (for houses only). So now would be a good time to buy.

Nic

I have also noticed that the coast prices are better now than what they were. This is part of the reason I suggested Buderim. It looks like prices are a bit better there than they were. Mind you this is my observation only no hard data.

And I still think that your friend will need to hunt around a bit.

Panda

Hi Mark,

I recently moved up to the Sunny Coast 6 months ago and the market has been fairly stagnant with properties in our area (Sunrise and Sunshine Beach as well as Perigian) with an average market time of eight months.

There's a fantastic agent we have dealt with when we were looking at some land up in Doonan - her name is Sue Platt (selling partner is John Scalan) she works at Laguna Realty - 5447 3999. Perhaps she might be able to help your friend with her enquiry?

There are several home for sale in the streets adjacent to us. Most are older BV homes with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms that are three streets back from the water. We've seen these for sale around the $330k to $489k mark. Being close to the water and schools they might be worth looking at as a potential PPOR?

Alternatively if your friend is happy being a little further away from the action she may like to check out suburbs like Tewantin (some nice character homes) or Cooroy (almost like a small town in itself) we've seen homes for sale there in the high $200k's. They are around 10 minutes and 20 minutes to Hastings Street respectively.

There seems to always be duplexes up for sale as well if you wanted to strech your buying dollar further. They would make great rentals in future years ( we pay $350 per week for ours which is two streets back from the beach).

All the best with your friends house hunting.

I hope this helps.

Cheers, e x

I have lived on the Sunshine Coast for 4 years and can highly recommend it to your friend. I would need to know a bit more information about her requirements before making any suggestions about where she should buy if she intends to make a life here. For example, does she have school aged children? Does she need to be close to a hospital or university? Would she prefer to be closer to Brisbane? Does she prefer the beach or hinterland areas?
Thanks,
yo yo ma

emcdonald,

Surely this is price range is not Sunshine Beach and only three streets from the beach. What area are you talking about in the below quote??

There are several home for sale in the streets adjacent to us. Most are older BV homes with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms that are three streets back from the water. We've seen these for sale around the $330k to $489k mark. Being close to the water and schools they might be worth looking at as a potential PPOR?

Panda

Hotspots

Just found an article in the Sunshine Coast Daily newspaper on 5th April. Big headline says HOTTEST PROPERTY. Basically summarises a PRD Nationwide 2006 Hotspot report. They’ve identified 8 areas tipped to enjoy property price growth in a market which is expected to bounce along the bottom. Kawana region topped their list, followed by Central Coolum, Pelican Waters, Tewantin, Nambour, Gympie, Caloundra Units & inexpensive land east of the Bruce Highway. They particularly stated inexpensive land east of the Bruce Highway is a wise choice for 2006. He identified relatively inexpensive residential estates such as Bellflower at Sippy Downs & Bellvista in Caloundra. Said that the region east of the Nicklin Way offers a lower entry point compared to other beachfront suburbs on the Sunshine Coast, where the majority of houses demand prices well above what the average homeowner can afford, or have been knocked down & developed into unit complexes. PRD Nationwide Maroochydore MD said he believed the market was showing signs of a pick-up in sales volume.

Hope this is of interest to some, I’ve got 3 of their 8 covered. :D

JIM

Hi everyone

I love the sunny coast but wasn't sure how 'safe' it was for IPs for long-term rentals (ie. not holiday rental). What's the vacency rate like?

kaf

Mark, very much depends where she is going to work. She is going to work yes?

I'd seriously recommend she rents for the first 6 months and has a look around herself.

If she is up market-ish,
Noosa, Sunshine, Peregian east of hwy (one of my favs)
Kawana Island is reasonable, esp a canal block if you can afford. Though lots of nouveau money amongs the retirees there, and lots of land to be released but further back towards Sippy Downs.
Minyama has great homes on the canal, and you could get something in the streets off the canal for $400k. Reasonably convenient to things.
'On Buderim' will remain in demand for years.

Watch out for:
Coolum. Still too many cheap homes in the back streets. and itinerant rotters renting.
Mudjimba and Marcoola. The planes come down quite low overhead and can scare the begesus out of you on a lazy Sunday morning.
Kawana Currimundi east of hwy. similar to Coolum. and lots of feral kids.
Sippy Downs. good access to hwy, buderim, and uni, but lots of rentals with lower tenants.
On Buderim. a bitch to get anywhere in peak hour. Over built. but still cooler and great views. too many pretentious w*nkers for my liking. And I am very familiar with Buderim. Relies were amongst first settlers.
Mooloolaba gets really noisy from Thurs night to Sun arvo...doofers drunks tourists.....otherwise, getting something close to the front offers a convenient lifestyle.
Caloundra is evolving still. If she is prepared to buy within walking distance of beach, might get some good cgs in the next 3 years.

All the big dev't will be between Kawana Island and Sippy Downs. There's a hospital going in there, and the road system will cater for massive growth. I looked at buying the rights to open a Fernwood gym at the southern end of Kawana north end of Currimundi about 18 months ago. Lots of retirees moving into the area.

The area I think has the most opportunity for cgs, is cotton tree, betweeen aerodrome road and the river. That will be the next new high rise reso lifestyle precinct. The medical specialists are moving in there in droves for some strange reason :rolleyes:

My opinion about the Noosa hinterland is that it gets hit harder in recessions, as it is too far away for weekenders from Brissy. and there is always heaps of stock on the market cos urban refugees/retirees get lonely, or exhausted from gardening an acreage.

A REA I really respect up there is Amber Werchon at Ray White Mooloolaba. She is a bit of a celeb these days.... Early 20s, very attractive blonde, self made, yadda yadda. THought she was a young blonde upstart when I first met her, but she blew me away with how much she just "gets it". Don't underestimate her. Recommend your friend get in touch with her.

thefirstbruce said:
A REA I really respect up there is Amber Werchon at Ray White Mooloolaba. She is a bit of a celeb these days.... Early 20s, very attractive blonde, self made, yadda yadda. THought she was a young blonde upstart when I first met her, but she blew me away with how much she just "gets it". Don't underestimate her. Recommend your friend get in touch with her.

Amber just won a big award for her performance in the RE industry.
JIM

PS. I seem to have a more positive outlook on a lot of the SC areas than you Bruce. I guess we see things a little differently in that regard.

Jim ,with a flatter domestic economy, i expect a reasonable degree of softening anywhere not special on the coast. I have had a long association with the coast since birth :) and the place has always got hit hard in recessions. However, I acknowledge it is probably the most sought after retirement/lifestyle destination in Oz these days, and that is softening the recession hits. Nevertheless, the demographic is still mixed, and there are enough low lifes up there to still make your life misery if you don't select well.

The local economy is still deceptively fickle. In my feasibility study for a health centre up there, asset rich cash poor stands out like dog's .alls.

Hi Gang,

It continues to surprise me the huge amount of development that is happening at Kawana Waters both commercial and residential.

Stockland is continuing on with this as outlined in the following article:

http://www.kenguyrealestate.com.au/press_room.php?action=view&id=13

I'm assuming this is still up-to-date.

It will be great to see that last remaining piece of land east of Nicklin Way in this area developed.

Future employment prospects in this region are certainly looking a lot rosier.

Cheers - Gordon

Bruce,

I reckon your pretty spot on with your take of the sunnycoast, right down to the pretentious w*nkers of Buderim:) ,itinerant rotters renting of Coolum:) ,feral kids Kawana Currimundi :) ,doofers drunks of Mooloolaba:) ,urban refugees/retirees of Noosa Hinterland:). (there goes my maximum of five images per post)

Still, wouldn't have it any other way.

btw
Unfortunately when the amalgamation of the shires (Caloundra,Marooychy,Noosa & maybe Cooloola) happen Noosa Shire will lose out and Highrise development,traffic lights, Billboards etc will come and and the area will just be another metropolis like the Gold Coast, Sydney, LA (can't insert image)
South Peregian now part of Noosa Shire and other northern parts of Maroochy Shire, such as Doonan, Eumundi wanting to join Noosa too.
If this keeps up, Noosa wont have to have amalgamation.