paperwork nightmare

Hi All,

I'm a beginner investor and am loving all I am learning. I've now been convinced property is the way to go and previously dumped all shares for property (which worked very well!). Everything I've learnt is very straightforward and totally logical.
I have had one major problem though - my paperwork and recordkeeping is TERRIBLE and a big headache which I can never seem to get perfect.

I've been keeping 5 folders for each financial year, 1 for work, 1 for misc, 1 for shares, 1 for bank statements and 1 for property (only have 2 at this stage). At tax time I dump the folders on my accountants desk and he does my tax, gives me a printout with the figures for each taxpack item and away I go.
I guess you can figure out that this is not ideal and I need to reorganise (again!) to optimise this.

I was wondering if anyone wants to discuss their methods of filing and organising all their paperwork?

How do you categorise? Divide into categories and use seperators for financial years?
Or divide into financial years and use seperators for categories?

And what categories do people use?
And do you group by IP or group by type of item (eg keep all rates notices together regarldless of IP, or keep all IP items together regardless of type of item). This has perplexed me most.

And if you have costs that go across more than 1 property eg if they are sharing a loan where to put these things?

Generally I've been thinking it would be best to keep things organised around the way tax works, which would be helpful in an audit.
It's my understanding that the tax pack doesn't care about individual properties just income and expenses as a whole - ie my property investment as a business is this correct?
But I'm also thinking that as I get more and more of these properties it will be too much and will REQUIRE some sort of breakdown based on IP otherwise I'll start forgetting which borrowing costs I've already claimed etc.