Managing Paperwork - your best tips?

I have paperwork coming out of my ears, property stuff, home stuff, development stuff, software stuff, kids (school, childcare etc) stuff, medical stuff, bills, invoices, receipts, warranties, bank statements, loan statements, credit card statements, car stuff, truck stuff, tax stuff... STUFF from companies and trusts..

I have, in the past, ended up with multiple full in-trays for filing each 6 inches high :)

One thing that started working well for me now is I've changed from filing cabinets to Ring Binder folders right there ON desk that is (almost) dedicated to managing STUFF.. My hole punch, envelopes, stamps, cheque book in easy reach.. maybe it'll continue to work well, maybe it wont, I have a long history of failed great ideas in keeping organised :)

I'm thinking of dedicating a set time each week to keeping STUFF under control.. I'm a terrible terrible pro-crastinator.. maybe that'll help too.

I bought the "Getting Things Done" book by David Allen but I havent read it yet :)

Here's my "STUFF Desk":

Filing.jpg

I'll hire a personal assistant when the cashflow permits.. in the meantime..... :) I'd love to hear everyones tips for keeping on top and organised.. I guess its all self discipline, but any cool hacks, ideas, thoughts, websites, software ideas, etc.

Sorry, no ideas, no help! Mine's worse! I wish I could wave a magic wand & have it all sorted out. I hate paperwork & I get more & more of the stuff each year.

Three piles

Hi Dunc,

I've tried a few methods -
- weekly/monthly filing
- temporary folders/binders
- multiple filing trays

None of them worked for me. The current method is pretty simple and doesn't require much ongoing effort - three piles.

Pile 1 is Action (usually contains bills) with the date to be paid highlighted. This pile is kept in date order, so I just need to look at the top item each morning.