Votes: 29 45.3%
  • Labor

Votes: 34 53.1%
  • Other

Votes: 1 1.6%

• Poll closed .
Who will win?
What will happen depending on which party wins?
How will it affect your property investments?
How will you react to the election?

Who will win?
What will happen depending on which party wins?
How will it affect your property investments?

I think the Libs will win, as Lab seems a wee bit disorganised.
If Libs win....it will be business as usual for my IP's.
If Lab wins...could see some changes...not sure!
Don't know how I will react to the election until after it happens....depends on who wins.

A lot will depend on the May budget, and the reply speech from Labor IMHO.
Then the various Policies announced by each party pre election.
Will be a lot of outdoing of each other and being "green" will play a big part, oh and what happens to David Hicks!
How much would i like a crystal ball right now!!!:)

I think Liberal will win.

People will say they will vote labour, but in the booth, with pencil in hand, they will chicken out, as they know that John Howard will run the economy better.

If labour won, I would change my strategy a bit. Less risk, lower debt. But I'm not afraid of labour. I would be afraid if the greens get too much power.

i think liberal will win. basically because they have (on the surface) done a good job of running the economy for the past 10 years and people are pretty happy with what they have been doing all over.

need to remember that oppositions don't win elections - reigning parties lose them.

what will be interesting is how many seats go independent.

Sorry to be a fence sitter, but Months too far away to say.

I believe people vote for Leadership, Humility, Average Bloke or Blokette, and most of all thier Hip Pocket (economical situation).

Since 1996 Libs has had a magic run with interest rates. Down only or Up and Down again at the right time.

This time since 2003 rates have only gone up. Thier greatest weapon is now very much blunt.

It will be John Howard versus Kevin Rudd IMHO.

Peter 14.7

Who will win?
The times are too good for most people to risk a change and Howard is the perfect politician in the perfect position. He has a seemingly limitless budget (from our taxes) to ramp up fear and market his (dubious) accomplishments in the eyes of the voters. how can he lose? For example:

1./ Australian Wheat Board Scandal
2./ Weapons of Mass Destruction / participation and support of an illegal invasion into a sovereign state against UN wishes. result 100 000 +++ deaths and no visible way out.
3./ The GST we would "Never Ever" Have
4./ AWA's
5./ Children Overboard
6./ Tampa
7./ No rises in Interest Rates
8./ Inaction/contrivance on denying basic internationally recognised basic human rights for Hicks and several other Au citizens (until the election looms).
9./ Denial of Climate Change. Later changed in the face of undeniable evidence to Yes it's happening but not due to human contribution.
10./ Closing off of the Australian parliament to it's citizens and any members who happen to disagree with US policy for the 1st time in Australian history.

That's just 10 things that immediately come to mind.

All that seems forgiven. Rudd has a coffee with Brian Burke before he became leader of the opposition and suddenly he can't be trusted. :confused:

What will happen depending on which party wins?/How will it affect your property investments?
As they say in Thailand, "Same Same but Different". Rudd has gone to great lengths to express that he sees any form of socialism as "an outdated 19th century philosophy" so I can't imagine there will be any radical Whitlam type reforms or changes to the way we do business.

With stunning indifference.

<Ubiquitous disclaimer> IMHO

Change is in the air.

Howard has sacrificed one of his own ministers in order to have a dig at Rudd. Its all a little too nasty and smacks of hypocrisy. I think his strategy has backfired and this time he will not be forgiven by the public.

My opinion: Labour will win the next election.

Lily

Hi Beef

Imho you've been a bit harsh on a few items there. To take the alternative p.o.v. -

2. You say that 100,000 lives have been lost in the war. Tell me - how many lives have been saved by the removal of the Saddam Hussein's sadistic regime?

3. The GST is close to the best thing that ever happened to Australia. Yes, I know he said "never ever", but that was a long time ago. He went into the 1998 election on a tax reform platform that explicitly included a GST, so we can't claim we were duped on that one.

4. After the Accord of the 1980's and later the push on enterprise bargaining, AWA's were a logical next step. As for people being ripped off or unfair bargaining - well, if God didn't want them sheared, he wouldn't have made them sheep.

6. John Howard wasn't captain of the Tampa. He didn't sail the boat into Australian waters.

7. John Howard never promised that interest rates wouldn't rise. He can't make that promise. He did say, however, that interest rates would remain low under a coalition government. Real interest rates in Australia are less than 3% - isn't that low enough for you?

8. I think you're being a bit harsh on the whole David Hicks thing. Sure it's pretty bad what has happened to the guy, but it's not worth risking our most important political and economic relationship over. That's utilitarianism - you sacrifice one, for the good of many.

M

Hi Beef

8. I think you're being a bit harsh on the whole David Hicks thing. Sure it's pretty bad what has happened to the guy, but it's not worth risking our most important political and economic relationship over. That's utilitarianism - you sacrifice one, for the good of many.

M

Hi Pitt,
Thankfully we live in a democracy, each have our own pov and are free to express it, and I can see your point of view on all points except Hicks. I think it is not just "one" that has been sacrificed here, we have all lost. Lets hope that none of us are in the wrong place at the wrong time without our full faculties or proof of identity as in the cases of Vivian Salon and Claudia Rau.

Perhaps also the point on Saddam's regime. Given that argument why aren't we storming into Burma or a dozen other brutally oppressed countries?

Beef.

Perhaps also the point on Saddam's regime. Given that argument why aren't we storming into Burma or a dozen other brutally oppressed countries?

Do I really have to answer that question?

Or do you want to be driving around in a solar powered car that looks like a UFO, has no room for the shopping, kids, sporting equipment or pets, and is flat out doing 20 km/h down a steep hill with a roaring gale blowing up its ar$e?

M ;)

Obviously, the premise was WMDs, the underlying motivation was security and surety of oil supply. American's love their cars.

Haha, Nah mate I love my guzzling 4wd's One for Mrs Beef and One for me. Good for bouncing away the roos at night, and beside I Couldn't get to my favourite beaches in a solar powered cockroach shaped egg carton. :)

That's utilitarianism - you sacrifice one, for the good of many.
Didn't Lawrence of Arabia do that? I don't know, it was just someone the other day saying how that happened in one of the movies about his history! I wouldn't mind if Beasley had a go!

I wouldn't mind if Beasley had a go!

Gday Jaffa,
Sorry mate, Kimbo seems to be a really nice guy and his Dad was a Labor party legend, in it for the good of the country (def. old school pollie) but if I heard Kim say "The Mums and Dads at the kitchen tables of Australia" one more time I would have thrown the TV out the window.:eek: He was being led by the spin doctors so tightly he had lost his own voice.

There was an interesting debate with Sol Lebovic (Chairman Newspoll) and Peter van Onselen Senior Lecturer School of International, Cultural Community Studies Edith Cowan University on The National Interest (25/2 ABC Radio National) regarding the forthcoming election and the state of the parties as they currently stand. Some key points...

* electorate is looking for an alternative (and a contest) and is giving Labor them the benfit of the doubt up until now

* Labour was in a similar position in both 2001 and 2004 before both elections (so to were the Liberals ie primary vote in the mid 30's%)

* polling today more accurately reflects the (dis)satisfaction of the government at the time of polling, not an indication of future voting intentions

* new Labor leasdership is seen as positive and people are far more inquisitive about Rudd/Gillard

*over 50% of voters don't make mind up until after the election is called

* Labor's mistake at the last election, was that they released too many policies too late, not leaving people adequate time to digest them

* IR is not an issue despite what ALP's & unions are saying. Water planning although is very important, whilst environment in also increasing.

* WA is very soft for the ALP (The Bourke issue will be more relevant than what people may expect). Qld is still soft despite Rudd being a Qld'er and the expected bonus is not materialising, plus there are very few marginal seats in Qld. Government is strong in resources states..

* NSW (Macquarie), SA (Kingston, Wakefield) & Tassie (Bass & Bradden)have the marginal electorates where the ALP could gain back seats

*ALP biggest gains so far are in NSW & Victoria (not many marginal electorates for possible ALP gains)

These experts called as of today was a Coalition win with a very reduced margin. Don't think there is a momentum or change like in 1983 and 1996. Time will tell.

Oh, my thoughts....Libs/Nat win (or is that personal bias ;) )...

By the way, who voted for other?? Which other??

Bookmaker Coalition Odds Labor Odds Probability of a Coalition Win
Centrebet $1.80 $1.90 51.4%
IASBet $1.83 $1.97 51.8%
SportingBet $1.80 $1.95 52.0%
SportsBet $1.80 $1.90 51.4%
SportsAcumen $1.78 $1.93 52.0%

At 5/3/07.
Its time to load up on the Libs. what a price :)

I may be too young too remember but wasn't there a time when the parties where very different, they seem very alike to me and seem to spend most of their time bitching and squabbling. Are these people supposed to lead:confused: I'm happy with either I just get embaressed when i say that funny little man pounding the pavement and wonder what other countries think of our voters, though it would be even worse if Costello unleashed those pasty white thighs every morn!!:eek:

They have been morphing together ever since the 80's. Hawke/Keating broke the mould by getting business on board with the ALP. Its been a fight for the middle ground ever since.