DHA Rent

Hi,

I've just received notification of new rent levels for my DHA property (well, I did buy it before I knew much about property investing).

DHA's suggested new rent is $285pw.

The (almost identical) rent across the road is let out at $320pw- that appears to be closer to the market level.

To appeal, I need a "licensed valuation"- I thought, previously, that all I needed to appeal was "evidence of higher rents".

A valuation would take a substantial hunk out of any raise- I would expect no more than $300pw even of they did agree- and, at a time when cashflow is poor, a $400 valuation would hurt.

Has anyone had experience with DHA revaluations of rent?

Hi Geoff,

A lot of people tend to equate property value with rental return. I don't know, since I'm only a beginner...

But if you get an extra $15 per week even, that covers the cost of your $400 valuation in around 6 months.

More importantly, that extra $15 per week might also be seen (eg. by a valuer) as meaning your property is worth more than it otherwise is.

Don't know if it helps - I was just trying to offer an alternative perspective.

Kevin.

Originally posted by Kevmeister

But if you get an extra $15 per week even, that covers the cost of your $400 valuation in around 6 months.

More importantly, that extra $15 per week might also be seen (eg. by a valuer) as meaning your property is worth more than it otherwise is.

Kevin.

Good point Kev - this will also help your DSR (since the extra $15 can be added to Y but they are unlikely to add the cost of the valuation to your expenses)

Although this doesnt help your actual ability to service the debt, it just increases your DSR.

I dont own any DHA property so I cant comment on their rent review process :/ sorry Geoff

hi geoff

my name is tony i am using my fiances link here

To put a little light on your question you have to remember that with DHA you dont pay for any repairs a % of your rent is taken out to cover the cost of repairs if any.