flipping

Hi all great site, here goes my first post.

I have been contemplating my first ip but my parents are in the background strenuously warning me off property investment at the moment. Apart from that, as a builder, I feel that I have an obvious advantage. I also want to get into it in a short term way until I have the confidence and knowledge to buy and hold.

Now, I have a good idea that if this was easy, people would be doing it but I just have to ask anyway. If this has been brought up before, and I'm sure it has, please let me know where. Is there any way to avoid actually buying the house in the first place? I.e. a contract with the owner whereby I do it up and collect the difference between agreed value and actual sale price or some kind of delayed settlement that gets transferred to the new buyer?

I realise now, this is probably the wrong place to post this but i'm sure someone will move it

Is there any way to avoid actually buying the house in the first place? I.e. a contract with the owner whereby I do it up and collect the difference between agreed value and actual sale price or some kind of delayed settlement that gets transferred to the new buyer?

Yes, there is a way. It is done though an instrument called an Option to Purchase. Essentially you pay a 'premium' (say $5-10K) to the vendor to purchase the property for $x on or before a certain point in time (by 'expiry') for a certain price (share market terminology equivalent would be the 'exercise price' or the 'strike price').

You now 'control' the property. You put in place the agreement that you will reno the property (with or without the vendors staying there - whatever you can agree on).

You then "assign" your Option to Purchase (before expiry) to the end buyer for a 'fee'. (essentially your profit from the deal). The end buyer just buys the house off the original vendors for what you had agreed at the beginning.

You can do a search in here on "put & call option".

The real trick is: