Any advice for a beginner to investing?

Hi,

I'm new to these boards, and have recently taken a deep interest in property investment.

My biggest problem is that I am only a first year university student, and I lack any starting capital or long-term employment (which most banks require).

I was wondering if anyone has any advice for this situation?

My goal - vaguely stated - is simply to be able to get a loan to purchase an apartment (around $150-$180K or so), and pay off the loan interest with the rental fees, eventually selling the apartment (paying off the bank loan) and earning from the (hopeful) appreciation of the property.

I would appreciate any advice on this.

Thanks,
Luc.

Dear Luc,

Experience and education. The important thing is at your age that you are visiting this forum. Make the most of the advantage of starting at an early age. But remember controlled risk aka SANF (Sleep at night factor). You don't appreciate what you have built up until you don't have it. Learn this from others.

Suggested next steps:

1) Cashflow

Get a part-time job. Yes I shudder at that three letter word but it is one way to build up capital. Do something that is sustainable with your studies and can bring in the maximum amount of regular $$$.

With this money save it and eliminate most of your expenses. The first part of becoming a great investor is to learn how to save and to properly handle money. Being a tight ass in the beginning is necessary to build up dollars.

Living at home helps to reduce your fixed living costs. Put up with it and use it to help build capital.

2) Education

Self-education is vital and critical to your long-term investing goals and aspirations.

a) Research this forum. (This is the best property investment resource in Australia and it is FREE. Read, read, read. Ask questions. Learn, learn, learn.)

b) Get and keep a copy of the Richest Man in Babylon. (TRMIB)
http://www.somersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=5793