250L Hot water system for 4ppl

Hey guys,

Recently bought IP.

Tenants have just moved in (a family of 4 people), and they are complaining there is not enough hot water.

The house has a 250L hot water system tank.

Should a 250L hot water tank be enough for 4 people (2adults, 2kids)?

I have called a plumber out to check it out, if its an issue with the element,etc.

I have no intentions of upgrading the hot water tank, but just want to know if 250L is enough for 4people, as they are complaining after 3 showers (of 5minutes long) there is no more hot water.

k

Hey guys,

Recently bought IP.

Tenants have just moved in (a family of 4 people), and they are complaining there is not enough hot water.

The house has a 250L hot water system tank.

Should a 250L hot water tank be enough for 4 people (2adults, 2kids)?

I have called a plumber out to check it out, if its an issue with the element,etc.

I have no intentions of upgrading the hot water tank, but just want to know if 250L is enough for 4people, as they are complaining after 3 showers (of 5minutes long) there is no more hot water.

k

170L Rheem Stellar is the norm for builders in Perth for a 4x2. Should be plenty!

The problem could be a tenants issue, depends on his electricity supplier and if he has off peak or heat as used. It may be best for them to speak to their supplier first. If it is a gas tank then inside the front flap there is a dial that heats according to setting. Make sure set on highest setting. 250 lts should be enough.

250L should be enough for regular use for 2 adults + 2 kids.

Things to check:
Are if they have a number of hot taps running at once, dropping the line pressure and "cooling" the flow.
e.g. doing the laundry and washing dishes while having a long hot shower.
Is the HWS isolation tap turned fully "on"...?
Same, same the water shutoff tap at the water meter?
Other issues are all with the HWS settings and heater elements, if it is electric, or gas settings if natural gas...the plumber will check this.
Adjusting the thermostat to 70c if it is not already.......

I have a family of four (two teenage girls!) who use water like it was free.....have never run out of hot water with a 300L off peak electric storage unit.

Good luck!

they are complaining after 3 showers (of 5minutes long) there is no more hot water.

Has the property got water efficient shower heads fitted so you can charge the tenants for water usage (NSW)? If so these are usually rated at 9l/min. So 3 showers of 5 mins equals 15 minutes in total at 9l/min accounts for less than 200l of hot water not accounting for any cold water mixing.

So either there is something wrong with the hws system or your tenants usage info is wrong or you do not have water efficient shower heads fitted.

Best to get ut check out as your doing then if all is ok and the shower heads are efficient then that's all you have to do and the tenant should review their usage as a 250l tank is suitable for a 4/2 property even though a bit on the small size as i think you can get 315 & 400l systems but not required.

Good luck but if you change shower heads they will probably complain about flow rate next.

250L should be enough for regular use for 2 adults + 2 kids.

Other issues are all with the HWS settings and heater elements, if it is electric, or gas settings if natural gas...the plumber will check this.
Adjusting the thermostat to 70c if it is not already.......

Good luck!

Update:

PM has called the Plumber to check the hotwater system. Plumber has advised it should be due to element issue and that it should be fixed by an Electrician instead.

Currently awaiting a response from an Electrician and hopefully confirm its an element issue only.

k

Plumber has advised it should be due to element issue and that it should be fixed by an Electrician instead.

Either the Plumber was an idiot for taking a job to fix a hws when he can't diagnose or do the whole job or the PM was an idiot for getting a tradie who doesn't specialise in hws. They need a plumber with a sparkie accreditation or visa versa. So now you may have 2 callout fees + labour to evaluate & fix the single problem. I love some PMs.

This was what got me angry... im yet to receive the invoice for call out fee from the plumber
i assumed the plumber could fix the HWS, considering he diagnosed it was related to the element, thought he could change it on the spot!.

waiting for the electrician to inspect and charge me :rolleyes:

k

i disagree, its not expected for plumbers to have a restricted electrical license, he did his job which was to find out what the problem was. if it was something wrong with the plumbing side he would have fixed it. the problem was from the electric heating element which is obviously a electricians job.

If you had of known it was the heating element, then i would have just said this to the electrician for him to replace the element.

or when you called the plumber asked if he could fix the electric thermostat before giving him the job.

First I just re-read the OP and now realise that they contracted the Plumber directly and no PM was involved. I suppose it only comes with experience and knowing what possible faults you may be dealing with or what maybe causing the issue but in this case the OP seem to know what they were doing.

If you had of known it was the heating element, then i would have just said this to the electrician for him to replace the element.

The OP did state that they "have called a plumber out to check it out, if its an issue with the element" so I think there was clear indication the plumber was employed to look at the hot water issue and in particular the element.

If the information relating to the element was conveyed to the plumber before he took the job, and as the plumber knows his restrictions unlike the OP, then the plumber is an idiot and less than professional unless he was a mate and doing it for free.:)

As for using a plumber, I know all plumbers do not have or need a sparkie certificate but it helps to use a single tradie that can fix all possibilities rather than go through several to get the problem fixed when you have an idea of one of the possible causal factors.

Same happens with Air Conditioner installers where some fridgies have a sparkie certificate so can do the power circuit and some don't so I always use one with both so you don't have to pay for 2 tradies when its a 1 man job.