A complex purchase - please help

Hello All,

I will get to the questions eventually which i believe belong in this section. Please tell me if I should post this in another section, as i am not sure how they all interact.

This is my first post so please be kind to me as I am a true property novice.

I have been considering purchasing an unrestricted (No Bylaws) company title unit in inner western Sydney.

It is quite a complicated transaction however I am eager due to the affordability of the unit in a inner city suburb.

The situation is:

The building is a tad over 100 years old. The landlord was the stingiest owner ever and looks like he never spent a $1 on the place.

The block has 8 apartments with a number of them currently rented out.

It appears the council came along and ordered fire safety improvements in the building. The owner has then created a company title in which to sell off each unit to the public. At completion of the sales he will withdraw funds from the deposits to pay for the repair work which is currently in its 3rd and final phase of completion.

I am a little emotionally attached to purchase the property because i want but can't usually afford an inner city apartment. I have planned the renovations in my mind already and can picture myslef living in it. And although it is complex, Maybe if i work through it all there is a potential big reward at the end. (Good unit with good capital growth and a place will enjoy living in)

At first I rejected the idea because of it's complexity but as the majority of units have been sold. I figured that the other purchasers must have done due diligence and were confident enough to buy into it, which has made me look again.

I have raised the 20% deposit as required by the bank and am on the verge of ordering a pest and building inspection.

The major issue is:

There is currently no company/strata plan. The contract has estimated a $3000 per unit - Water/ council/ administration.