A deal worth considering?

Hi everyone.

Am very new to the forum but have really enjoyed reading and learning via others comments and experiences. So, I thought I would post some details re my situation in hope of receiving some guidance and suggestions because I think I'm going to need all the help I can get for this one. Yes, I'm also new to developing.

I own smallish block zoned B3 (Mixed use) in a medium size NSW coastal town. The block is rented commercially atm with good returns but only takes up approximately half the bock - 400m2. The block is quite thin (12.5m), so will keep the architect busy. I am considering developing the rear of the block by adding 4 or 5 units (reasonably) and everybody I speak to considers it a great opportunity, if done right. I'm sure alot of them are initially!!

I've been told by a builder after a informal site inspection that I could potentially fit 6x2 bedroom units (<100m2) over 3 levels on there but personally I feel this is probably too much for the site and more importantly me. I'm thinking 4 and a penthouse?

I have approached council and spoken briefly to 3 different planners who have flagged parking and the proposed residential entrance as serious considerations. Otherwise, they are promoting this type of mixed development. Currently the rear of the block is used for staff parking for the commercial properties and the odd customer but as it is an unnamed rear access lane it has not street frontage, no numbers and therefore considered by council as not ideal for residential units due to the rear lane access. I have approached council and in the process of a proposal for the naming of the rear lane. If successful this could possibly alleviate one of the issues they've raised.