About to buy first IP now, then PPOR later...

Hiya folks newbie here. Was reading a lot of stuff on here and the verdict is in - Somersoft rocks!

My wife and I want to buy a PPOR then use the equity to fund an IP as ya do. However just recently I have been approached to go JV in an 8 pack of units 50/50 type deal. The figures add up and the property will boast a 7-8% yield (20k net passive income) so basically I'm considering taking the opportunity as I have managed to twist the wife's arm.

A few things;

Do I set loan up IO with offset account?

When we eventually buy PPOR should I use equity from IP to fund it? Or should I use other cash money as a deposit and keep the two properties separate?

If for instance I purchased PPOR first then used a LOC to fund an IP, what tax advantages do I get as opposed to the reverse scenario I'm about to do!?

Hope the Qs all make sense and thanks in advance folks!

Do I set loan up IO with offset account?
Should you?
You would not want to pay PI as this would be tied up cash and would result in more non deductible interest when you eventually buy the PPOR.

But you said this is a joint venture so how will this be structured? You may not want to put your cash into a joint offset account.

When we eventually buy PPOR should I use equity from IP to fund it? Or should I use other cash money as a deposit and keep the two properties separate?

Depends on how much spare cash you have lying around, how much equity, ownership of the investment and your short and long term intentions with the PPOR

If for instance I purchased PPOR first then used a LOC to fund an IP, what tax advantages do I get as opposed to the reverse scenario I'm about to do!?

You would have paid down personal debt and be borrowing 104% of investment property price so you would be maximising tax deductions.

Thanks for getting back to me TerryW.