Allowing pets - how do I protect myself from potential damage by the pets

Hello All

I am new to this.

I have a potential tenant that has 2 small dogs and a fish tank.

I know most landlords will not allow pets so she is looking for a pet friendly landlord.

I am willing to consider accepting her application but obviously want to cover myself for any potential damage these pets could cause.

I was told by a friend I could ask for a pet bond - he took $200 for his rental property years ago for one small dog (he stiill has the same tenant)

Another friend is paying $10 per week for the privilege of keeping her labradore at her rental property.

What option do people think is the better option?

Has anyone been adversely affected by being a pet friendly landlord? If so please share your horror story.

Thanks heaps

Which option is better? Both!

Take a pet bond and put the rent up just that little bit - $10/$15 week. If it's that difficult for the tenant to find somewhere, they will pay it. Simple case of supply and demand. ;)

Why don't people ask for extra money for kids? Kids are SO much better at damaging things than pets are. When was the last time you saw a dog that drew on the walls or coloured the carpet in paint? And kids pee on the floor too!

My toddler has been swinging on our teatowel rail in the kitchen and broke it off today. They swing on doors and gates too (damages the hinges) and we've had to replace all our flyscreens because they've popped them out. And we need to repaint our bathroom window ledge. This is a 6 month old house. Not helped by the fact that the builder cut some serious corners - they used the thin flyscreen holding stuff so its really easy to push the screens out, and you'd think acrylic enamel paint would survive children but apparently it doesn't.