Am I on the right track

Hi All

This is my first post, so apologies in advance if I seem a little green! - I do not own any property at the moment but have a fairly good deposit. I would like to purchase a house in NZ around $600k (this will be rented out while I am living in Australia and be treated as an investment property - don't know when I will go back as I am a sole trader) I plan to put $300k down as a deposit, rental will be approx $500 p/w with additional cash here of around $200k.

I would like to to pay out this property asap as if it was PPOR (but keep it as an IP - purely a security for me) and then use the equity in that property to purchase another IP in NZ.

Would appreciate your thoughts on whether I am on the right track by planning to pay out asap - as you can tell I don't have any experience in this area other than reading books and forums - I am thinking of getting a PI loan- what other things should I be considering in structuring this?

Thanks

MM:)

Interest only and park the excess payments into an offset account. You can treat it like a PPOR in terms of how fast you attack it (assuming you don't have an actual PPOR that you should be hitting first), but don't actually pay down the loan.

Last edited:
That is one track - there are many different tracks all getting you to the same destination, but some are shorter than others.

Would appreciate your thoughts on whether I am on the right track by planning to pay out asap

There's no right or wrong, but..... your saving as much as you have without buying something until now, and wanting to pay out the debt first, is very safe and very slow.