Any advice?

Hi everyone!

Hope i'm posting in the right section? :confused:

As the name suggestions, i'm very new to this. I brought my first house (which i currently live in) 4 yrs ago in WA. My motivation when i first brought my house was to just use it as my stepping stone to start buying more investment properties. Four yrs on & after reading many, many books i figure it's about time. Especially as prices have dropped i want to get in NOW. Better late then never (but better never late!)

I could really do with a mentor, someone to guide me a little and give me some suggestions, advice and inspiration.

A little about my current situation: Due to unforseen circumstance, i work PT from home and apart from my mortgage (200k) i have no other expences (apart from the usual living costs) which leaves me with not a huge amount of disposable cash and what i do have left goes in to savings. I know it's too risky for me to currently buy another property on my own in my current situation without tweeking a few things.

I've found someone who will buy with me and i've been looking at interest only loans. My plan is to make my current loan interest only as my mortgage is already pretty low and i'm not planning to stay here forever - maybe another 5 yrs before i rent it out so i'm not too concerned about paying the principle at this point in time. Then, when i buy the investment property and rent it out, i'm not paying out much more than i already currently am.... Will this work? Any other options out there?

Then, the question about where? The other party wants to buy an apartment in the city. For far too many reasons i'm cautious about this and would prefer something in the suburbs within reasonable distance to the city. Any ideas about this?

I really look forward to hearing about some of your experiences and learning from this as much as i possibly can. I want to give this a go and there's no better time than now. ...:)