Any experience in financing a warehouse conversion?

Hi all - a newbie here...

Firstly, this looks like a great forum full of some great opinions so I thought I would post this in the hope that we get some more 'creative' advice than our lending institution have been able to offer us thus far.

We are wondering if anybody on the forum has any experience in financing a warehouse conversion?

We have found what we consider a fantastic opportunity to create something that is uniquely our own in a great inner suburb of Melbourne.

The property is an old garage and warehouse that is currently in the process of being sub divided from a big old house on a large block. The lot will be 169m2 and the agent is asking around $430,000.

The property is zoned residential but has never been inhabited (as it is not a dwelling and has no real services). As part of the subdivision the vendor will supply water, sewer and electricity connections.

We would plan to engage professional contractors to essentially establish base building to a level of occupancy - New roof, underpinning of the floor, water, sewer and electricity. We have estimated that this could be done to a base level for around $50-60k. We would then move into the base building and slowly undertake the rest of the works ourselves to save money and not have to keep up rental payments on our apartment. This is certainly a massive undertaking but a project we are exited about.