Any tax courses to do

Hi All,

Just a bit of background information on myself. Finished my law degree this year. Currently practisting as a solicitor in a small law firm since April of this year. Just want to do a Tax course on the side so I can learn more about tax law, particularly in relation to property etc such as CGT, etc.

Can anyone recommend a good tax course (preferably online) that would assist me in learning all of these tax concepts? Or is a masters course at the uni the best way (do not want to go back to uni)? I want to start advising a bit in relation to tax matters and want to learn for my own future career.

Any and all recommendations and/or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks all.

The Tax Institute is very good for lawyers seeking to upgrade to get tax quals. Some elements may get prior recognition.

I did my Masters of Taxation at ATAX. University of NSW. Can be done by correspondence. EXTREMELY practical and course notes are "A" Class. Lecturers include practitioners and leaders within the tax profession and advocacy groups.

I did my Masters of Taxation at ATAX. University of NSW. Can be done by correspondence. EXTREMELY practical and course notes are "A" Class. Lecturers include practitioners and leaders within the tax profession and advocacy groups.

Thank you for your reply.

Is this course at a beginner's level and how long did it take you? Any qualifications you obtained from it?

I am really reluctant to go to university again, but if it is by way of correspondence and does not take too long, I would be interested.

Thanks

Mike - You already had extensive experience and owned a practice and had tax quals. The Masters takes it further and is a very challenging technical qualifiction for advanced application. I would imagine a person seeking to learn about tax law and CGT etc might find it challenging and perhaps a second stage course.