Anybody with TPG for mobile phone?

I have an iPhone 4 in good nick and don't need a newer model, but Optus has offered me a phone upgrade with a new plan for two years (which I have no intention of taking up).

I'm thinking of changing from Optus $50 plan (which includes $500 in calls and some internet - 1GB? I cannot see what it is on my account page - why do they make it so hard to find the information I am looking for???)

I'm sure come March I will "own" my phone that I've been paying $10 a month for for two years and can change to another carrier (but will check that out).

Son's friend is with TPG and is paying $17.99 a month for what seems to be similar quantity as I'm getting with Optus for $50 but even if I need to go up to the TPG $34.99 plan I get 3GB date and $1000 in calls, better than my Optus plan (depending on how much each call is charged at, of course).

Does anybody have any experience with TPG. This young chap is happy with it but I don't know anybody else using TPG.

Seems great value. (I will check Whirlpool to see what I can find out, but thought someone on SS may have thoughts on coverage and service through TPG?)

My personal phone is. Coverage not as good as my Telstra work phone but then again its Optus :)

TPG use the Optus network so no real difference in coverage vs Optus directly, they even use the Optus voicemail system.

I do find some phone calls scratchy/people say it sounds fuzzy, but maybe just the handsdet.

Tpg

I'm on the TPG 17.99 plan, had issue with accessing internet at the start.. took a few calls / weeks to sort it out.

But after that was resolved ive been pretty happy with it. Similar coverage to optus as they use optus.. and internet speeds are not too bad

good value for money

Thanks for that. Do either of you know if TPG send warnings about usage like Optus does? I don't want any more nasty bill shocks without knowing I've used up my limit.