Arrogance vs Confidence

{Edit: split from this thread}

Few random thoughts: :D

Difference between 'Arrogance' & 'Confidence' - Is it in the eye of the beholder?

Do we need little bit of arrogance needed for financial/career success?

Personally I don't mind a bit of arrogance if that person is really good at what they are doing.

Last edited by a moderator:

Difference between 'Arrogance' & 'Confidence' - Is it in the eye of the beholder?

Personally I don't mind a bit of arrogance if that person is really good at what they are doing.
In my previous life as a golf pro, I used to go to many Coaching Seminars, workshops etc....there were many Pros at these events of varying stages of life and experience.

One thing that became a bit glaringly obvious was the number of more experienced guys who dismissed a lot of the "new stuff" that was being presented...

They had the attitude of knowing all - so to speak.

I thought they were arrogant, a bit silly for dismissing a possible revelation in the way we taught golf, etc. I was younger, less experienced and hungry to learn.

Thirty years later, I sorta could see what they were going on about; and worked out they were not so much "arrogant" but confident in their level of knowledge.

Sorta like the term; "there's nothing new under the sun" etc.

I think you still need to keep you mind open to what may be new and possibly better, despite your knowledge and experience - that's the balance between arrogant and knowledgable, I reckon.

Last edited:

Arrogance is literally an overrated opinion of one's self.

So if a person really is that good at what they are doing (and they know it), it isn't arrogance, it's confidence.

Is Usain Bolt arrogant if he says he's the fastest man alive? No.

Wylie was right, arrogance is not needed anywhere.
Having confidence is good, but confidence without wisdom is similar to being arrogant.