Auction TV show last night

W

WebBoard

Who saw that TV show last night? They showed you how their reno experts tarted up some old dump at Dulwich Hill in Sydney last year and then they showed you the place being auctioned live on TV last night. What a fizzer! Passed in at $505k with just 3 bidders. Considering all the publicity this televised auction would have generated it was a real letdown. Obviously the producers and LJ Hooker picked that property because they assumed it was in a hot suburb most likely to arouse maximum interest. Looks to me like the sizzle has gone out of the market.
Mind you, when I clapped eyes on the vendor I knew it would not sell. Typical 40 something divorcee. Lets just say, because this is a family site, I've had a lot of experience (and I do mean experience) with 40 something divorcees.
Most are bitter and think they have been hard done by and that life is unfair. They believe that gives them the right to be aggressive and to go out and get what rightfully belongs to them. And if that includes an above market price on their house then they will! Although I despise agents I do sympathize with the ones who have such twisted clients.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reply: 1

I saw the show and wasn't surprised the vendor didn't sell.

My spin on it is if I had a TV show come to my house with a huge team of tradesman, spend $10k on fixing my bathroom, completing my kitchen and fixing up the garden and veranda, I'd have no intention of selling either. I'd look all forlorn on TV and be all smiles once the cameras had left. Thank-you Channel 7.

Owen

"Gambling promises the poor what property performs for the rich – something for nothing"

Reply: 1.1