Aussie slang

Referring to an old man as a 'silly old b@gger'.

Dry as a dead dog's donger.

Donger (as in mining accommodation )

Blowie (your choice)

Bogan was mentioned above but apparently has some aboriginal meaning as well (or it cold just refer to Datto)

Humpy

The sack of goon/goony.

Sh!+ fight

**** about.

Blimey

Any term which starts with 'fu....'

eg: f off, f'ed up, we're f'ed, f'in hell etc.

Yeah naaah

Chooks ? I used this word for my chickens sometime ago on facebook but none of my non-aussies friends recognized it. Many asked me about the meaning and when I told them it is for "Chicken" they laughed as Aussie slang :rolleyes:

yeah i only heard chooks when i moved here.

same with things like arvo.

there's a bit of cockney-esque slang doing the rounds - but with a distinct aussie slant.

"Take a Captain" - Captain = Captain Cook = Cook = Look.

Also the way we describe our currency is quite unique with some cockney twists.

Galah / Fairy = $5
Bluey / Budgie / Pav = $10 - Pav = Pavarotti = Three Tenors = Tenor = Tenner
Lobster = $20
Pineapple = $50
Croc / Lettuce / Hunge / Jolly Green Giant = $100

No wucken forries BG. It's like water off a duck's back.

Hey bro, passes a beer from the chilly bin. Choice. Wish I wuz in New Zulland.