being a contractor

In my current job I have recently got, I have been hired as a contractor, I will have the option to go to full time or stay as a contractor. It is in IT, doing programming. Does it make it harder if you a a contractor to borrow money? Does it make any difference to the banks if in this industry if you a full time employee or a full time contractor?

Hi Nicholas,

Welcome to the club. I've been in IT contracting for a number of years. Are you contracting through your own structure (a company or a trust) or you are on payroll through an agency ("labour hire")? In the former case after 2 years of tax returns you will have banks queuing up with attractive individually crafted offers. In the latter case you are a permanent employee of the agency and getting a loan will be easy given you have a good employment history. But back to the former case - until you establish a history of financial reports your options are:
a) go lo-doc
b) get a good mortgage broker (such as Rolf) who is dealing with self-employed people on a regular basis

If you have a signed term IT services contract, make sure the lender has a copy - it will show not only the amount, but also the nature of your company's income (personal services).

Don't hesitate sending me a private message if you have further questions.

Say cheese :p

Lotana

One employer I dealth with insisted that I have workcover in place to prove that I was a company and not just a single person.

Jas

I am just a sole trader, I have to double check things I am presuming the contract will be for a year, full time .. it basicly is I am an employee really .. I work in there office, use there equipment. I just bring skills to the table.