Boom time going West - Treasury

Alex mate,
You're digging yourself into a deeper hole here...

I am no expert myself but I do know that iron ore prices are negotiated DIRECT between the buyer and seller.
There is no LME trading house or secondary market that trades and hedges and speculates on the supply here.
Unlike other commodities and metals, this one, as well as the natural gas contracts are negotiated direclty between the customer, be they chinese or japanese, and the supplier.

The previous boom as I recall it, was more related to metals such as gold and nickel, but this one is being led by iron ore and LNG.
With nickel, copper, and uranium following closely behind.

From my reading of the picture, its in the early phases of an upswing.
And because some of these supply contracts are for 20 yrs or more, I believe its a prolonged upswing.
Some are calling it a super cycle.....time will tell.

There may be parallels with post war Japan and emerging China, but the scale of the two countries can hardly be comparable.

And supposedly India is yet to emerge ....

kp

kph said:
I am no expert myself but I do know that iron ore prices are negotiated DIRECT between the buyer and seller.

I think the point Alex was trying to make is those prices (however they are negotiated) can change year-to-year. Its not locked-in for the duration of the 20 year contract. I have no idea whether thats true or not but I assume its the case.

The way I was reading the weekend papers was that, in the absence of a contract for iron ore, buyers would have to get supplies from the spot market. i.e. the higher the spot price, naturally the higher the contract price. Also the contracts are renegotiated yearly, so if the spot price drops, then the contract price will drop as well, since buyers can just get ore from the spot market.