Budget Kitchen

Looking to get this modernised on a budget. As this is my first project I don't want to tackle anything out of my league. My plan is too -

Hire someone to -
Remove tiled floor and splashback
Remove and install new stove/cooktop/rangehood (second hand from gumtree/recyclers?)
Remove countertop and install laminate countertop
Remove arches

I would then DIY -
New taps
Paint cupboard doors gloss white
New handles
I'm planning to redo all hallways/common areas with laminate floating floors. so this would replace the awful tiles currently installed.

Or would I be better saving up for a whole new kitchen?

Attachments

• DSC_2286.jpg
    DSC_2286.jpg
    730.7 KB · Views: 181
  • DSC_2285.jpg
    DSC_2285.jpg
    729.9 KB · Views: 151
  • DSC_2290.jpg
    DSC_2290.jpg
    914.6 KB · Views: 171
Here's another similar one - even has the tiled bench-top! This client of mine DIY'd (he's a handyman) and bought second hand/end of line products. Total cost was $1607. Excludes flooring. He was, in fact going to remove and replace the entire kitchen until I suggested these changes.
Includes;
- paint cupboards
- new laminate top/sink/tap
- new appliances
- new splash-back

BEFORE
Winthrop_St_kitchen_BEFORE_big.jpg

AFTER
Winthrop_St_kitchen_AFTER_Big.jpg

Can see more pictures of the property here if you're interested... http://hotspaceconsultants.com/sneak-peak/24-winthrop-street

If I was doing it, I would rip out and start again. Especially if I was having to do the floors as well. Trying to work around the old kitchen cabinets would be annoying. Really all you'd be saving would be the base cabinets, a few doors, and maybe the sink. So that might be a saving of $1000? But then you'd have to pay for paint and try and do a half decent job for all the doors.

I would rip out and go to ikea and spend the $2000 on a new kitchen, then get new appiances on sale or on graysonline or near new stainless stell appliances on gumtree.