Building a Duplex

I am ambitious to build a duplex to live in and would be interested in hearing from others who might wish to join me.
After selling my house I will have over $1.1M to invest. I want to downsize to a Duplex but to undertake the project on my own is not feasible. After land and building costs a good sized duplex will cost $1.3M. But will be worth $1.5-1.6M. So $750-800K each. This makes getting the property I want and a modest profit very feasible.
I plan to undertake this in the Sutherland Shire so if you wish to join me please raise a hand....:)
PS I am not a developer, just a downsizing baby boomer with some good business skills:)

I am ambitious to build a duplex to live in and would be interested in hearing from others who might wish to join me.
After selling my house I will have over $1.1M to invest. I want to downsize to a Duplex but to undertake the project on my own is not feasible. After land and building costs a good sized duplex will cost $1.3M. But will be worth $1.5-1.6M. So $750-800K each. This makes getting the property I want and a modest profit very feasible.
I plan to undertake this in the Sutherland Shire so if you wish to join me please raise a hand....:)
PS I am not a developer, just a downsizing baby boomer with some good business skills:)

Sure you can do it yourself, why is it not feasible?
You got 1.1 mil, you only need 1.3 mil.
Why share the profit and go through the headache of a JV with 1001 conditions?
Get an easy loan for the last 200k at the tail end of the development and you're done.
If banks won't give it to you there are other places that will.
Build, sell and profit.

I am with the ace, once you sell, you should be cashed up. Rent somewhere handy to the site. Go to a project builder eg Rawsons, Mastertons etc.

The bank will want you to use your funds first then will fund the balance.

If you decide to sell you will need to subdivide (so check this out before committing).