Building standards

I have settled on the Sydney apartment bought OTP a year ago. I am not a construction expert, but even I could see that certain elements of the development are poorly designed. For instance, front door to the block of units is only 66 cm wide and wouldn't let through any standard furniture such as a fridge, a washing machine, or a sofa. I have a feeling that there are certain standards that the developer must adhere to. How do I find out what they are? Is there sufficient ground for a legal action?

Regards,

Lotana

Lotana,

the builders must follow the building code of australia, a copy of which you'll probably be able to pick up from the master builders association or housing industry authority.

The builders need to have a knowledge of the BCA. The builders build to a plan which is drawn by an architect who must have thorough knowledge of the BCA. These plans are then checked by the council in the DA process, then re-checked by the council or the private certifier during the construction certificate process, and then once the work has been completed its checked again by either the council or the private certifier before the final occupation certificate is issued.

just some avenues you may wish to explore.

I just checked with my husband, and he said that the front entry door needs to be 900mm wide, and if it's a point of egress for fire emergency it needs to be at least 820mm.

The door needs to be sufficiently wide to allow wheelchair access.

it seems your door does not comply.

hope this helps.

all usual disclaimers! :)

Joanna,

Thank you, your post is very informative. I've searched the web and talked to the Master Builder Association of NSW and Standards Australia. The BCA is only available for sale.
You say:------------------
I just checked with my husband, and he said that the front entry door needs to be 900mm wide, and if it's a point of egress for fire emergency it needs to be at least 820mm.
-----------------------------