Buy and hold strategy break down

Im new here so not sure if I previously posted this in the wrong sub forum...

Try again.

Hi guys

I am needing some help to set up my investing strategy.

I have explained our situation in a previous thread, http://somersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=108502.
We have approximately $350k in equity to get started with but would like to leave the current investment properties at an 80% LVR leaving us with $150 to spend on deposits.

We are still living in remote FNQ so it may be difficult but my plan is to start out purchasing properties in reasonable areas with reasonable growth and yield such as Logan, Slacks Creek, Woodridge in QLD, Elizabeth south or Salisbury North in SA, Moree & Albury in NSW etc etc. I want to target homes that need work as I am a builder and then renovate, hopefully buying below median house prices and then gaining equity and higher yield. Eventually doing more developments.

So I have a plan in place but everyone always says to start out you need to know where you want to be in 5-10 years time and then work out exactly what properties you need to acquire to get there (how much growth and rental income needed from each property). I think if I follow my plan above I will reach my goals but working out the numbers to get there is difficult as I cant plan how much a knocked around old home in Logan is going to sell for and then how much I need to spend on a reno without seeing the condition.

Iv done some BASIC figures below of an example without doing any renovation work or being active at all, but it looks like a very slow growth to get to where I want to be in 5 years time! Can any experienced investors have a look and tell me their thoughts and tricks:

$160k for deposits

Purchase four homes for $250k each and valued at that price.
Each home rents for $260p/w (lousy yield but worst case scenario)

Use LMI to borrow 88% (unsure of LMI cost so leaving it out)