Buy PPOR or IP's as first purcahse

Hi All,

I am relatively new to property and this forum. I currently don't own any property and I am looking for feedback/input for my situation.

I have approximately 80k in savings and I am considering either purchasing a PPOR or IP's. The PPOR would be a house in the $550k-$600k mark in Western Sydney, either in Rooty Hill, Minchinburry or Blacktown. However, I feel that I wouldn't get good value in this price range as prices have appreciated considerably this year.

The other option would be to purchase 2 properties for no more than $300k each. I have done some research and properties in this bracket in suburbs like Mt Druitt are fairly close to being positive/neutral cash flow (for P + I). I could then rent a similar property to one I would like to purchase as a PPOR in Blacktown or Parramatta for considerably lower rent than the equivalent mortgage repayments on that property.

My overall goal is to enter the market and participate in future capital gains. Also, I notice a common theme for most IP purchases is to pay interest only but I would prefer to pay down the loan asap if taking this option.

I would appreciate any thoughts you may have on the benefits/pitfalls of either options.

Cheers,
Xpress

I notice a common theme for most IP purchases is to pay interest only but I would prefer to pay down the loan asap if taking this option.

Explain your thinking around this bit. What is your concern with debt? Is 600k in property 'enough' to achieve your goals? If not, and you intend to take out more debt in the future to buy more property (especially if it's supported by an increasing asset base), why pay down a couple thousand or something that you would be paying off on the P&I?

Do you understand that having the full amount of debt + money in an offset account is just as safe and in fact more flexible than paying off the debt?

Hi All,