Buying OTP Apartment for Living

Not too bad - at least it isn't a 260 unit 23 level thing.

The Y-man

Now you make me feel bad, mine will be in a complex of 5 building and total 500+ units, plus a pool and a gym and elevators (strata fees!!)

But yeah, the size of the complex doesn't sound bad ;)

OTP v AC

hi Bruc3 let me give you a really contrary view here ( & its not meant to talk up OTP buys guys): I am a developer & I can tell you that if this boom continues & the developer holds back some stock for release (i.e. they have deep pockets) especially the better units in the block then it is quite possible that you could pay more by waiting till completion (of that building); illustration is in 2004 I developed 18 apartments in regional NSW & sold all before completion; had we held some or all back from OTP sales we would have finished way in front of where we did on prices achieved during OTP marketing; not complaining mind you but the point is that the OTP buyers were the winners. I know its a different time & place all you sceptics but it could happen where you are looking given certain market conditions.
good luck!

i think it boils down to more like demand vs supply.

anybody who bought anything in 2004 would have made money during the property cycle rise.

Have you thought about just renting the place after it's complete?

Nope, I have been renting long enough and its due time to buy. I get tired of moving around all the time. Plus kids will be coming in near future and would like to have our own place by then.

The plusses of OTP are that you get to choose the unit you want in the building (if you're an early buyer), you may have limited scope to customise it and you do lock the price in. If it's going to be a long term PPOR then capital gain may not be so important to you, though it's a factor if you want to use equity to finance IP down the line.