Buying process similar between NSW and VIC?

Hi everyone

I'm looking to purchase a property in Melbourne. I live in Sydney and have only bought in Sydney. A complete NOOBIE when it comes to buying in Melb and would appreciate some advice.

I assume the process is similar?
1. Obtain pre-approval from bank
2. Line up conveyancer
3. Make offer
4. Assume offer accepted, pay holding deposit.
5. Exchange contracts
6. Carry out relevant searches during cooling off period
7. Pay 20% deposit upon expiration of cooling off
8. Settle in about 6 wks time (conveyancer will sort out payment of stamp duty etc)

Is there anything different when it comes buying in Melb as compared to Syd that I need to be wary of?

What happens with signing documents? Do I have to be present in person or can the docs be mailed to me?

Do you recommend I use local conveyancers? Rather than using my Sydney conveyancer?

Any tips / recommendations would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks in advance!

There's a big difference with regard to Cool Off period I think.

From memory, in NSW during your cool off period you can pull out at any time, for ANY reason and only lose you 0.25% deposit?

In VIC, I think the technical "Cool Off" period is only 3 days, (zero days if you have had the contract reviewed by a solicitor first).

After that, the only way you can pull out is on a "subject to" clause failing I believe.

It's been a while since we bought in VIC, but buying in NSW last year I remember thinking it was a lot easier for us as buyers to crash the contract if we needed to for some reason, (within that nice long cool off period).

I'm sure someone will correct me on the above if I'm off base.

Hi

I will add a couple of little points but I am sure others will add more.

1) VERY FIRST STEP IS TO READ THE SECTION 32 THAT THE VENDOR OR VENDOR's AGENT MUST PROVIDE BEFORE YOU SUBMIT AN OFFER.

2) If buying at Auction you have no cooling off period as far as I am aware.