Can a child earn income on a property she doesnt own

Can my child earn income on a property she doesnt own?
I was about to transfer to her, and it was all ok but then became very complicated and I try to keep my life simple. It's possible to transfer to her but something I'd rather avoid.

SO, she received the rental income in her bank account, and I will always do tax returns for her for that rental income.

Question is: is this kosher?? Can she earn rental income when the property is in MY name? (the reason I'm doing this is to minimise my taxable income and keep it below certain thresholds)

To me, it doesn't sound kosher at all. How can she earn income from something she doesn't have any rights to?
The property is in your name so all income and expenses are in your name. Unless you transfer ownership to her or to a trust (both will trigger stamp duty and associated costs/legals etc) then it is your property.
I have limited experience in this but to the best of my knowledge, what you are suggesting cannot be done without transferring ownership.
A trust can be set up for this which can be kept relatively simple. You could distribute income via this to reduce tax to her taxable amount. However, you also need to remember that any other income she earns will reduce the amount you can transfer, even interest in a bank account which can catch a few people out.
Or you can transfer title to her name.
Stamp duty and legals will be an expense so you would need to take this into account and decide if it is worth it relative to tax you would save over time.
I do not know of other ways to do what you are suggesting.

Last edited:
Can my child earn income on a property she doesnt own?
I was about to transfer to her, and it was all ok but then became very complicated and I try to keep my life simple. It's possible to transfer to her but something I'd rather avoid.