Can I sue the realestate agent?

As you can see from my other thread. The subdivision that council initially told me would be approved. Has been rejected.

No subdivision is possible.

Now the ad for the property by the realestate agent stated the property was subdividable.

"This is a perfectly positioned 1012m2 corner block which can be subdivided with 2 street access."

http://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-qld-salisbury-110642897

Obviously we over paid because the block was apparently subdividable.

Plus all the costs with trying to get the subdivision approved. Plus holding costs, etc...

Would it be possible to take legal action against the realestate agent for a false advertisement?

Or maybe more importantly, would it be practical?

Thanks

Tim

I feel for you, I really do,

im surprised the agent didnt put in STCA

I am no lawyer but I doubt agents can be sued, or else the courst would be full of agents being sued

Yes, you could sue the agent - but you should be asking "should I sue the agent".

Are you prepared to fork out tens of thousands in legal fees with a risk that you could lose, have to pay your own legal fees as well as the agent's? face a court judgement - bad for wealth and credit history.

But you should talk to a litigation lawyer as you may be able to begin the process and see where it takes you.

BTW, did the council tell you you couldn't subdivide or that it may be possible if certain conditions are met.

Print off a PDF of that page too, before it is taken down or changed.

I feel for you, I really do,

im surprised the agent didnt put in STCA

I am no lawyer but I doubt agents can be sued, or else the courst would be full of agents being sued

They get sued all the time and they sue all the time- double commissions are a big one.

I would also screenshot this ad, and document anything else which relates to the sale, including any conversations with the agent regarding its suitability to be subdivided.