Can someone tell me if this is legal please?

Hi All,

Interested to know if an idea I have is legal or not.

Basically I'm building 2 identical townhouses as we speak. My idea was to build one for our family which will become our PPOR and the other I was going to sell.

Would it be legal if I moved my family in to one Townhouse for 3 months and make that our PPOR and then sell it after 3 months as our PPOR and then move in to the one next door which would then become our PPOR after the other Townhouse we originally moved in to has been sold and settled?

Any issues with the above?

Thanks Xenia.

Not sure how it wouldn't be allowed but I'm not a property law expert nor an Accountant so thought I'd ask the question first.

If you buy a house and live in it as your PPR, do a dual occ and once rear unit is built move into it, then sell the front house, this can be a strategy that works.

But it's not as simple as above and your scenario is different.

Suggest you sit down with your accountant and plan this out.
Time and time again clients come in AFTER the event and the accountants hands are tied.

Good luck.

Hi All,

Basically I'm building 2 identical townhouses as we speak. My idea was to build one for our family which will become our PPOR and the other I was going to sell.

Would it be legal if I moved my family in to one Townhouse for 3 months and make that our PPOR and then sell it after 3 months as our PPOR and then move in to the one next door which would then become our PPOR after the other Townhouse we originally moved in to has been sold and settled?

I don't think many on this forum could give an informed opinion on the operation of Part IVA ITAA97 and section 165 GSTAA.

In fact, I don't think many accountants could either. Hopefully they know just enough to get (expensive) legal advice if you present them with this scenario.

Last edited:
Hi All,

There are no laws which prevent a person living in their own homes.