Capital Growth or better rental return?

Hi guys,

I am new to this so please bare with me. Im 25 years old and bought my first IP in sydney at the end of last yr. I bought my property for just on 500k but my rental return weekly is 400. I would like to purchase my next IP within the next year. I need advise on which state to purchase in next and also is it better to buy a property with more rental return or more capital growth? Any feedback will be extremely appreciated. Cheers

Depends on your strategy and situation. I have a few low yield high CG properties with a few low CG high yield to keep me afloat. How much you can borrow, how much you make all plays into it.

Forgive me for what may seem like silly questions.... Do you work outside of realestate? Or is your focus on your properties? Do you make enough to solely invest and keep investing off your IPs.

Forgive me for what may seem like silly questions.... Do you work outside of realestate? Or is your focus on your properties? Do you make enough to solely invest and keep investing off your IPs.

If you made all the right moves 8 years could be enough, I'm sure others on this forum have gone from zero to retire in that timeframe (I'm talking young newbies, not people who have made it and lost everything and started again but with more experience behind them, or who started with lots of capital after a long career in a regular job). But I haven't. I've made many mistakes along the way which has set me back many years but I'm getting there. Lots to learn. But better to fail fast and learn fast than to sit on the sidelines terrified of giving it a go.

Last edited:
It would depend on your situation. In the end, the total return on property = rental yield + capital growth. If you can afford to cover the shortfall and can make good use of negative gearing deductions + 50% discount on capital gains, go for more growth.