Capital Vs Regional

Hi all, newbie here. Not sure this has been asked but I would like to ask for clarification and understanding.
I know that buying in capital city, chances are there will CG and in due time rental will go up which will become positive. However if you do not have enough $ for places near the city, Regional is another option.
What I don't understand is with regional, we might have positive geared rental. How about Capital growth? I mean in long term, if CG is slow, what good it is to purchase places in the regional areas. Also some of you might say buy more houses in regional.. if there's no CG, there's no or little equity. And might need to use cash to buy.. so have much can we go with regional? What if I don't have enough cash.. Won't I be stuck?
I understand the benefits of buying near capital cities.. but how about regional... What are the benefits of it? :confused::confused::confused:

Thank you for your advise and patient in replying me.

Do further research.

No reason why a regional can't have CG.

Just like a capital city can have stagnated growth.

Sydney is having a boom now, was pretty flat for a long time.

If you go regional, make sure that it has multiple industry and not reliant on just one (eg mining). For some the best way of calculating return is rental yield + capital growth.

If you look around hard enough there are still metro areas that give just as good rental yield as regional. Hence not much point going regional unless you know a big project is going to happen there (before anyone else).

If you go regional, make sure that it has multiple industry and not reliant on just one (eg mining). For some the best way of calculating return is rental yield + capital growth.

If you look around hard enough there are still metro areas that give just as good rental yield as regional. Hence not much point going regional unless you know a big project is going to happen there (before anyone else).