Car Repair Costs-Just Checking

I'm being quoted $700 for a a new timing belt. This sounds awfully expensive to replace a belt. What else might they be doing as well or am I being ripped off?

I know I could do a bit of a ring-around for quotes but thought I'd get impartial advice/info first.

TIA

PS: If this is any help, it's a 1998 Ford Laser, Manual with nearly 200,000kms on the clock.

Sounds a bit high for the age of the car, but front wheel drives are always a pain.

You're lucky you don't have an even more "sophisticated"car where the dingbat who designed the car necessitates the removal of half the engine wiring harness, a couple of engine mounts AND front suspension to get the timing belt out!

timing belt is not a fan belt
it runs inside the engine an provides control of cam & valve movement in relation to crank shaft
on failure: (no teeth left on belt)
attachment.php

valves stop in the position they are in, rising piston smashes into an open valve
attachment.php

and its engine replacement time;
suggested replacement times for drive belts designed to prevent failing
the belts are ~$80 - 180 depending on supplier
the job is tedious, position critical, and time consuming
$700's relatively cheap

:ditto the dingbat designers: v6= 2 front engine mounts, inlet manifold, heaps of wiring, 40 8mm bolts just to get the covers off

• timing-belt-failure.jpg
    timing-belt-failure.jpg
    66.9 KB · Views: 1,000
  • timing-belt-failure-2.jpg
    timing-belt-failure-2.jpg
    71.7 KB · Views: 2,516
on failure: valves stop in the position they are in, a rising piston smashes into an open valve and its engine replacement time f

Check if its a non intererence engine ( which means the pistons cant hit the valve if the belt fails)
Then It wont matter if it breaks.

But if it is I would reccomend replacing as it can become very expensive.
some cars cost more than double that.

I'm being quoted $700 for a a new timing belt. This sounds awfully expensive to replace a belt. What else might they be doing as well or am I being ripped off?

I know I could do a bit of a ring-around for quotes but thought I'd get impartial advice/info first.

TIA

PS: If this is any help, it's a 1998 Ford Laser, Manual with nearly 200,000kms on the clock.

Olly,sometimes they also replace the fan-ac belts also when they do the timimg belt,i run hondas the timing belts for the crv's are about 1100$
but that's with a new water pump,ac-radiator new factory belts and they have to be done every 100k,so with 200k on the clock it would be wise to replace ,,because if it breaks the pistons go into smack bang into the top end and smash everything,that's why so many car companies are going back too timing chains,the costs sounds solid to me,also look into replacing all the belts and have them check the water pump..

Should take 2-2.5 hours tops plus belt, belt tensioner and idler pulleys. $700 seems a bit steep. Did the shop give you a breakdown of costs or just the single figure quote?

If that's parts and labour it's not too bad. You could probably shop around and find a local guy who'll do it cheaper.

My advice is never to skimp on car servicing. Servicing your car properly extends its useful life massively. A mate of mine has a 1999 Ford Laser that has always been serviced, and it's now got about 270,000km on it, and goes great. He said he'll trade it in either when it has a major failure or when he retires - whichever comes first. He is currently 38. I fear he will have this car a long time!

For what it's worth, I paid $600 for mine, which was water pump/timing belt kit/labour/coolant.

quick search looks like the parts will be around $80 for the belt kit and anywhere from $50-150 for the water pump. More for genuine.

they may have made other allowances (often water hoses and other belts get replaced at the same time)

I doubt you would ever find it for less than $600 to be honest...

$700 is probably not the cheapest, but not a rip off.

Thanks everybody. He is a local (4 blocks away) and he's always done everything on the car - it just sounded so expensive! He did mention that some cars can be majorly damaged if the timing belt breaks and others not so much. I vaguely remember him saying something else gets done at the same time but I can't remember what he said.

Why oh why am I so technically minded in everything else but I just don't retain car info. :(

YMan - Re: More sophisticated car. This is a reason I'm afraid to get something more modern. I'm happy with something that's reliable and easy/less expensive to fix, although she doesn't look so good nowadays (red paint fading and a couple of scrapes and dents). :(

VYBerlinaV8. Yep, mine is very reliable so I'm happy to hang onto her. She was owned previously by an aircraft mechanic who kept meticulous records on all that he'd done to her. He'd probably have a fit if he saw her now and knew what little I did to keep her in top nick!

Thanks everybody. He is a local (4 blocks away) and he's always done everything on the car - it just sounded so expensive! He did mention that some cars can be majorly damaged if the timing belt breaks and others not so much. I vaguely remember him saying something else gets done at the same time but I can't remember what he said.

He was probably referring to belt tensioners.

It's not too bad if it is parts + Labour and includes a waterpump.

It's cheaper than replacing the engine, that's for sure.

TIA

Second time around 200,000km's - is usually a timing belt kit - includes tensioners etc. May have hydraulic tensioners which is more expensive.

We priced up a kit for a '95 Subaru Liberty a few days ago - $365 for normal tensioners, $550 with hydraulic tensioners, plus allow about 3 hours for labour - $300 approx. Subaru's are typically not cheap compared to yer Laser, so maybe there's other things involved such as waterpump as was mentioned.

So, there's easily $650 for that car - your quote may have been for 4 hours labour, or other bits, or more cost for labour per hour etc.

By the way; we have a standing joke at our workshop - if it's got a 19 in front of the date; it's "Below the Yellow Line".

Not actually a joke either; most cars of this vintage are not far off costing you plenty, and the car's worth about $600-$1000 at best.

Food for thought.

Its a DIY. There are only a handful of bolts involved. Remove alternator and platic timing cover.

Use the money you save to buy quality tools.

Befriend a mechanic (every family knows at least one) to help you.

Do a little research:

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_do_yo...a_ford_laser_sedan_automatic_1.6_liter_engine

It amazing how much money you can save.
If it was as easy as you reckon, then how come both my mechanics - who have at least 20 years experience each; can't do even the basic ones (without a timing belt kit - just the belt) in under 2 hours?

So, if you can chuck one in under 2 hours (and the car is still running after 5 km's up the road), turn up next Monday at 7.45am, I'll supply the overalls and you've got a job for life.

You may save money doing it yourself - if you've got the tools, but if you get it wrong, you may need a new motor, or new car.

As for befriending a mechanic to help; try getting one who isn't a really good mate to give up a solid half a Saturday for ya, for nicks.

If it was as easy as you reckon, then how come both my mechanics - who have at least 20 years experience each; can't do even the basic ones (without a timing belt kit - just the belt) in under 2 hours?

So, if you can chuck one in under 2 hours (and the car is still running after 5 km's up the road), turn up next Monday at 7.45am, I'll supply the overalls and you've got a job for life.

You may save money doing it yourself - if you've got the tools, but if you get it wrong, you may need a new motor, or new car.

As for befriending a mechanic to help; try getting one who isn't a really good mate to give up a solid half a Saturday for ya, for nicks.

im a mechanic and probably could do it in 2 hours but your so right i wouldnt bust my *** around 4 hours should be quoted...2 hours would be flat out but i know when you work fast any stuff up can happen

Sorry Bayview, I was just offering suggestions on ways to save money.

Look, I'm not a mechanic, but I had a timing belt changed on a 1991 KE Laser by a mechanic relo. I watched him change it and it was less than 2 hours. OK, I assisted him eg handed him tools, nuts, held things etc. Didn't seem difficult at all.

He didnt do it for nicks, I paid him cash but I saved heaps. We were both happy.

Look I dont want to put mechanical workshops out of business, but hey, if you want to save money why not look for an alternative way.

im a mechanic and probably could do it in 2 hours but your so right i wouldnt bust my *** around 4 hours should be quoted...2 hours would be flat out but i know when you work fast any stuff up can happen
We normally start at around 3 hours as a ballpark for labour when someone asks for a price on a timing belt kit - and then we go to the VACC times guide for a more definite idea; but my boys know from experience what is roughly required for most cars..

Some service books will even give you the expected times for various work items....they are often very generous.

And, because it is our arzes on the line if it isn't done right, and because of the friggin "ever since" factor :rolleyes:, then none of us is even thinking about a rushed job - and will never rush it no matter what. If that costs you another 30 mins of time - $50 - then too bad, and go somewhere else..

People drive in a friggin' Corolla and want you to make it into a bloody "Roller", for the price of a Mars bar, and done 5 mins ago...."if yer not too busy?" FFS

I'll tell ya what; tomorrow I'll get a price for the kit, and I'll look up the times guide - and I'd recommend a new water pump at 200k's as well (we always do due to the age and mileage - unless it's been done recently), so I'll find out that too, and I'll come back with a realistic price you'd be paying; and done correctly, including road test to make sure the thing doesn't blow up..

Ya think I sound peezed about demanding and ignorant customers who wanna pay bugger all for their shoite box cars to be transforned into a limo? Damned right.

Go to the doc for 5 mins and see the bill, or a specialist for a look see for 5 mins, or go to a lawyer for an hour and see the bill.

But, as stated; the solution is; fix it yerselves.

Have to agree with Bayview

Each person to their trade…I've been using the same mechanic for years now and while I could probably do quite a few of the tasks myself, I know the chances of a stuff up would have quadrupled had I done it compared to if he had, not to mention the time wastage factor. After doing everything from oil changes to clutch replacements in my youth, I don't even bother doing routine oil changes or radiator flushes now. I'd rather leave it to the experts….Yeah it costs, but I see it as money well spent. Like VYBerlina said, what you pay for in regular servicing you make up for with a car with less issues and will last generally longer and cost less in the long run.

As for $700 for a timing belt change, doesn't sound too bad…I had the timing tensioners on my 2005 V8 Falcon changed (not the same job admittedly, but similar labour content) . Would have cost around $1,100 but covered under warranty back then.

Timing chain replacements are one of those things where, if you don't do it , or put it off, and the thing breaks you could be up for huge dollars replacing bent valves, busted pistons, etc.

I could probably do quite a few of the tasks myself, I know the chances of a stuff up would have quadrupled had I done it compared to if he had, not to mention the time wastage factor.

Heading off on a tangent...

It might be nonsense, but I was talking to an NRMA (RAC?) bloke once. It was a rainy day and I said, "I bet you guys hate being rostered on in this weather.'

He said the shift they all hate is Sunday afternoon. That's when all the guys who have a go - and fail - at fixing their own car call up because they need the car Monday morning to go to work.

I'm guessing the DIY mechanics get on the phone to book an NRMA visit and just say the car won't start but they don't know why. It wouldn't be till the bloke arrives that it becomes clear the car won't start because there are bits of the motor on the floor of the garage.