Carpet cleaning - what is the best method for badly soiled carpet?

I have found steam cleaning to be a waste of time in such circumstances. I think steam cleaning basically sanitises it, but does not clean it.

I'd be looking at a carpet shampoo-er if I were you. We have one primarily to clean up pooch messes, but it's also been used at a student apartment I own with good effect.

I have no experience with jim1964's option.

Depends upon the types of muck you are trying to get out - decomposed bodies/blood stains or dirt/mud/doggy do or ink, red wine, tomato sauce/food etc?

A quick call to carpet court usually sorts it out.

Need to be careful with steam cleaning , cheaper carpets can shrink after
being steamed, I warn my tenants to use dry cleaning only like electrodry.

I have done carpet cleaning for work when younger and have used industrial truck/van mounted steam cleaners, portable good quality steam cleaners and the smaller cheaper stuff also

We also had the "dry clean", floor polisher style that used pre sprays and carpet discs

I would get someone in to quote the job using a truck mount system as this type has high powered vacuum motors that are capable of removing a much higher percentage of the water used in the process

the cheaper models cannot remove the majority of the water and this is what causes the majority of problems such as discolouring and shrinkage etc

If they are any good they will have one or two industrial blow heaters to leave in each room to speed up the process and remove even more of the residual moisture

the dry clean /pad method IN MY OPINION is near on useless for anything but the surface of the carpet. and pushes most of the chemicals used into the carpet along with the dirt that was on top.

opinion only !

cheers Eden

footnote

"very little waste is created with the dry pad style cleaning"

but

I have cleaned rentals (2 br units type size) when I have used the 50 litre tank of water with the carpet detergent added