CGT, non cap losses and trusts

This is one that I will take to my accountant, but I was hoping someone could give me the basics (all disclaimers deemed given and understood):

My trust is selling a property and will make a capital gain. Let us say (for the sake of round figures) the gain is $100,000

My trust it's discretionary, not hybrid, has carried forward losses (not capital losses) of (let's say) $25,000.

We will need to distribute income at the end of the financial year. What are the steps we go through, and how does the loss affect the taxable gain? We have a low earner, a high earner and a child that we can distribute to.

My intent in asking this is to then apply it to my situation AND THEN SEEK PROFESSIONAL ADVICE. I want to be able to ask him better questions, is all.

Quiggles,

I'm by no means an expert, but by my understanding, the income loss will not be able to offset the capital gain at all. And whether the loss can be carried forward I think depends on whether or not the trust has made a family trust election.

When you say "distribute income", are you referring to just the capital gain or other income profits in excess of the carry-forward loss (assuming you can use it)?

Regarding the distributions, minors under 18 can only receive $772 before being taxed at the penal rate of 66%. To me, the distributions would best go in the first instance to anyone with a personal loss that can be offset (capital loss in the case of the capital gain), and then to the lowest income earner (after the $772 to the minor). If the complete distribution makes the low income earner the highest income earner, then if both are on the top marginal rate it doesn't matter who gets it. If not, then apportion the distribution so as to minimize the overall tax.

Again, I'm no expert. Just a few thoughts.

Cheers,
GP

Hi Quiggles
I might be wrong but I would think you would work out your CGT