Changing to IO on PPOR

Hey guys,

I've been lurking these forums for a while soaking up all the information and I have to say there is some excellent stuff on here.

So my situation is as follows, I am an Electrician on a modest wage of 65K with a supplied car and phone etc. I currently have 1 property which I live in and am renovating with the intention of renting out in hopefully 6-8 months time.

Through the readings I have done on here a lot of people seem to recommend changing the loan to IO if I plan on renting it out as the interest payable will be tax deductible once tenanted and am better off with the money currently going toward the principle sitting in my offset. At least this is as I understand it.

The question I have is am I not better leaving the loan as P&I so that once the renovations are completed and I have the bank evaluate my property (shooting for around 400K going of comparable sales) that more is payed off the principle and puts me in a position of more positive cash-flow to help with serviceability of future loans.

Thanks in advance.

Edit: Loan amount is 250K at 4.88% currently if that helps.

Hi bigdealbaby,

Welcome congrats on your first post!

Assuming you are suggesting paying off just a small bit of the loans principal? Like $5000-10,000? If so that won't affect how much you can borrow terribly much. You would get more borrowing power by switching to IO and taking the next loan to a lender who services other banks debts at actual repayments.

And other advantages as you have alluded to.

Hey guys,

I've been lurking these forums for a while soaking up all the information and I have to say there is some excellent stuff on here.

So my situation is as follows, I am an Electrician on a modest wage of 65K with a supplied car and phone etc. I currently have 1 property which I live in and am renovating with the intention of renting out in hopefully 6-8 months time.