Cheap bathroom supplier S/E Melb?

Does anyone know of a cheap bathroom supplier in melbourne?

I'm after cheap,second hand,factory seconds for an ip.

I've sourced a shower,taps that came to 150$.

Still need shower base and vanity cupboard,basin and taps.

I've had a quote on the above close to home at 400$ new.

Just missed out on a vanity cupboard,basin and taps in good nick on ebad at 31$

My other cheaper option is buying a pedestal to go under basin and buy a new shower base at 99$.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers Spades.

seriously have a look at bunnings, I ve stopped looking for 2nds and gumtree etc.

bunnings have some cheap stuff, and teh amount of time, petrol and effort spent on finding something at half price sometimes doesnt add up

eg small vanity $129
Shower base and screen $300
larger 900m vanity $200
Toilet $95

Thanks Truly Exotic and chrispy for your suggestions.

Btw T E,petrol ain't an issue due to company car but sourcing stuff in a short time frame is a right pita.

Think i'll just opt for a pedestal to go under the basin,looks neater but really not needed.
Polymarble shower base i've sourced for 99$,so that's a goer.

So once i have these items,next is to rip out bath etc and get a plumber in.

Next on the hit list is get sparky in to install split system and upgrade fusebox and check wiring.

Kitchen will be painted in laminate paint,carcass is fine.Install rangehood.

Do some more painting here and there.

Lastly i think i'll clean and varnish floorboards rather than polishing.

All this i gotta do between work and within 4weeks due to next prop.

Gotta pull my finger out.

Cheers Spades.

ps also I have found that saving $50 on a vanity for example, any savings are erroded by having a slower working tradie or a more expensive one (with no increase in quality) so I trymy best to find any good deals on stuff at the time I can and just factor it all in,

eg $100 vanity with 3 hours labour=$300
eg $200 vanity with 2 hours labour=$330

end product, for a mere $30 difference is a better vanity, so it may increase teh rent by $5 per week or be a contritubting factor to getting the extra $5 per week

food for thought

Thanks for input TMNT,
Vanity i can install myself so labour ain't an issue but again i'll think i'll opt for the pedestal under basin.
The thing is too,the work i'm doing is not going to increase the rent that much but aiming for a long term quality tenant with my unit having a bit more bling than the other units.
As an example the other tenants are paying between 195-210pw,and that one that is achieving 210pw is worse than mine.That is the going rent for a 1 bedder for the area atm.
I was thinking of self managing as 2 neighbors are interested,1 i don't trust,the other i do trust 101%.See what happens,might leave it to the PM if 101% pulls out.

Cheers Spades.

Score^second chance offer,got for 31$...Also got brand new poly marble shower base 65$ delivered to my front door.96$ outlay for both....1 hampy camper :D

Total outlay for bathroom items:
Shower with taps,shower head,towel rail and toilet roll holder-100~
Shower base-65~
New lollipop laundry taps-51~
4 x boxes of new bathroom tiles-20~
Bathroom vanity and taps-31~
Total=267~

Labour~?(to update)

Forget Bunnings,they sell absolute crap.

There's a heap of ecommerce stores popping up particularly in Melbourne, importing a heap of stuff out of China. Try Bright Rennovations in Dandenong.

Now I may sound hypocritical with my first comment, but having built a heap of top end homes, there's hardly any difference between some of this stuff and a $1000 mixer from Reece.

Forget Bunnings,they sell absolute crap.

There's a heap of ecommerce stores popping up particularly in Melbourne, importing a heap of stuff out of China. Try Bright Rennovations in Dandenong.

Now I may sound hypocritical with my first comment, but having built a heap of top end homes, there's hardly any difference between some of this stuff and a $1000 mixer from Reece.

Hi MRCCON,

Bunnings in crap?Have you tried the sausage sizzle over the weekends?

i agree re:eccomerce and it's the sign of the times.

Btw your post is contradicting :confused:

Cheers Spades.

Hi MRCCON,

Bunnings in crap?Have you tried the sausage sizzle over the weekends?

i agree re:eccomerce and it's the sign of the times.

Btw your post is contradicting :confused:

Cheers Spades.

What I mean is, there's crap, then there's CRAP.

90% of the stuff in bunnings belongs in a skip.

You can get stuff of a similar price, that are pretty much knock off's of the top end fittings from Reece etc worth 1-2k a pop, for $40-50.

The stuff from Bunnings aren't knock off's, especially the bathroom fittings, they are just rubbish.

Try Bright Rennovations, there's a few others around.

Hiya MRCCON,

Thanks for your input mate.

I'll bare that in mind in future.

Though i'll think i'll stick to my current scrooge sourcing via ebad

Cheers Spades.

Just an update:

Ripped bath,basin and tiles over the weekend.

Lookin' on ebad,the cast iron bath i pulled out may fetch 100$

The basin being a royal doulton made in 1966,should fetch 150$+

Selling just these 2 items should almost pay for the materials i outlayed :D

Plumber and tiler booked for tomorrow-1200$

Cheers Spades.

Hi neeko,

Thanks for the tip but all materials sourced.

That said though i'll bare that in mind on the next one.

Cheers Spades.