"Cheapest" loan, IO split?

Hi yall,

I went over my investment IO loan today and came up with an idea,
My biggest goal when investing [even know this is my first time] is to save every penny I can, wherever I can and this should stand true for all of us too.

I have a split loan where about 80% is wound up in a fixed rate and 20% in a variable rate, Ive done this because I can make extra repayments with no penalty to drop my interest and because of the redraw facility if I ever need it.
Also, as I understand, whatever money I put into this variable percentage of the loan, the money is all still mine, It doesnt "go" anywhere it just drops your repayments and is easily withdrawed from the loan, back into your own pocket.
This is an atractive aspect of the variable rate.

I have $40.000.00 in that variable category and am wondering if I should up it to around 60-70.000.00, I say this because, If I make the extra repayment each week, I will effectively drop my interest by the most.
Plus, the extra .25% on that variable percentage of the loan makes hardly any difference to the loan repayments anyway.

Am I on to something here? do you guys already do this?
Am I living in the stone age?..:D

Last edited:
Per Alexlee, I am also a fan of 100% offset accounts. Redraws are OK but 100% Offsets give much more flexibility.
In respects to whether to up the variable proportion of your loan, your idea would work under current interest rates. The .25% isn't much.
BUT what if the variable rate went up further and the difference between the fixed and variable rates gets larger ? Would you then be stuck with a larger proportion in the variable rate that isn't compensated for by the lower balance ?

Am I on to something here? do you guys already do this?
Am I living in the stone age?..:D