Commercial property in Queensland- SWOT

Dazz posted this in another thread- I thought it might be worth discussing as a way of learning something about commercial property. It's on the New England Highway in Queensland.

It is under contract, so it's all hypothetical at this stage.

Dazz said:
This Tenant is signed up for 10 years with 3 x 5 year options available after 2017.

The asking price is $ 1.05 million.

They pay $ 2,315 in rent per week, and have been for the past 6.5 years.

At a conservative 50% gearing, the mortgage cost would be about $ 600 per week to hold, so it would put $ 1,700 per week positive cashflow in your pocket.

http://www.realcommercial.com.au/property-retail-qld-allora-500846771
Some of my thoughts- and I'd be happy to be proved wrong. I have very little experience in commercial, but I'd like to learn more.

So my thoughts on SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats)

Strengths:
.An excellent return
.A very long potential lease
.It appears to be an excellent highway location

Weaknesses:
.Only 3.5 years until the first option expiry. As well as sleep at night factor, it may be difficult if there was any borrowing required for longer than the 3.5 years
.There appears to be weakness in the retail fuel market- outlets have been declining for some years
.Insurance may be expensive given the above ground tanks- and insurance may be a condition for a loan

Opportunities:
.If the tenant were to leave, it may still make a good retail outlet given its apparent highway position. Takeaway food plus a small petrol outlet may be a good option for tenant(s)

Threats:
.Lease may not be renewed in 3.5 years
.Bypasses or traffic diversions could hit through traffic
cu@thetop said:
I don't like it though as there are a few risk factors. Of course I would need to see the lease but a single tenant retail- not the major player in the game. If another station opens 5km upstream you can watch your tenant's sales halve.
deltaberry said: