Commercial Property Purchase in ST Kilda Road

Guys

I am new to commercial property investment and found this deal as good in current market. What is your opinion?

Here is the detail

Private sale Office Suite in St Kilda Road, 58 SQM, One car park, currently owner occupied but willing to lease it back for 16,000per annum + outgoings for next 3 years with 2 year option and the asking price of 250K. There is also CPI index rate increase every year. Owner is also willing to provide personal guarantee to backup the lease term. This office is partitioned into 3 rooms and recently fitted with new carpet. Recent rate notice assessment has the valuation for 275,000.

Is this a decent deal? How much bank will lend for these properties? Any one has any idea

Regards
Siva

Hey Siva,

you need to read the (future) lease that the vendor (prospective tenant) is proposing, assuming one exists at this point.

You should ascertain what the lease rates are for similar sized offices in that 3004 postcode. I had a very quick look and the rent on a sq m basis looks about right for newer (flashier) offices. However I have found this:

http://www.realcommercial.com.au/property-offices-vic-melbourne-5810303

Significantly lower rent for more floor space and two car spots, which is a premium in that area (St. Kilda Road and Queens Road). If we capitalise that rent of $11,250 at 6.4 % like your find, then it would have a purchase price of approx $176,000. It will depend on whether this example is indicative of the type of office/building you are looking at.

If possible try and find similar offices in that building (or similar calibre buildings) and work out what they are renting for or asking as a lease rate.

The problem with leasebacks (sometimes) is that the initial rent is high to cap the purchase price at a higher level so the seller gets more up front. Doesn't always happen, however exercise care that this is not occuring.