Commerial lease extension "option" can new owner cancel it?

Hi guys

TLDR - if a lease has been made by an old owner, 2+2, can the new owner refuse the option to extend, or does the leasee have the right to 4 years if they wanted it?

I'm looking at purchasing a commercial building currently occupied by a government department in Victoria

you would normally think this is a good thing, but I if I bought I want to use the building for my own business

They are currently on a 2 + 2 lease, let's say the initial lease ends Jan 2015. The agent selling the property is trying to tell me that I can just kick them out Jan 2015. I have no experience with commercial leases but from my reading online it seems this is incorrect, that if they wanted to renew until Jan 2017 I wouldn't have a choice... so which is correct?

I haven't spoken to the govt dept about this yet, but I seriously doubt they would want to move

See your lawyer. Don't rely on the agent (ask him/her to put that in writing).
If not in default the tenant can usually force the option. May be some argument if the lease is not registered (at least here in Qld) but I wouldn't rely upon it.

Hi guys

TLDR - if a lease has been made by an old owner, 2+2, can the new owner refuse the option to extend, or does the leasee have the right to 4 years if they wanted it?

I'm looking at purchasing a commercial building currently occupied by a government department in Victoria

you would normally think this is a good thing, but I if I bought I want to use the building for my own business

They are currently on a 2 + 2 lease, let's say the initial lease ends Jan 2015. The agent selling the property is trying to tell me that I can just kick them out Jan 2015. I have no experience with commercial leases but from my reading online it seems this is incorrect, that if they wanted to renew until Jan 2017 I wouldn't have a choice... so which is correct?