Common Tenants Purchase!

Hi Investors,

I have been reading all your advice on here the last couple of years, big fan of The Y Man! And last Monday i made the leap and bought my first property :)

Heres my situation...

I am 22yo and had saved up a large deposit, although because i am still studying and not working full time i have been unable to get approval for a loan. The way i have worked around this is by getting a joint loan with my Mum, but i am the only one contributing financially because i still want this to be my baby :)

The bank said that my mum must have minimum 20% on the title to use her income to acquire the loan. So my property will be 80 my name, 20 my mums. The arrangement i have with mum is she will not pay a cent, and has just done this so i can get in the market now. I will rent it out for a few years and when i can afford to do so, i'll move into it and get her off the loan and title.

Has anybody has a similar experience? I just want to know about the process of getting the 20% in my name down the track. I heard today that i will have to pay stamp duty on 20% of the value of the unit aswell as transfer fees :(

Thanks guys

And your Mother will have to pay tax on the capital gain.

This is a very bad way of making a purchase for yourself

Before you sign up for this, realise that implicating your Mother in the deal when she has nothing to gain, makes her a Borrower of Convenience for you, and the deal could be significantly inconvenient for her

Life has a habit of changing when we least expect it.

We assisted our children to buy property at very young ages, but we made sure that assisting them did not undermine us and did not create situations of later expense or of tax liability

There is a better way than the way you describe

Seek professional advice or at the very least, talk to a Broker and not just the branch of your local bank

Cheers
Kristine

Hi Kristine,

Thanks for the reply :)