complete novice needing advice!

I wasn't sure if I should post this in Commercial property so apologies if I am in the wrong section!! I just wanted to get some advice on a path forward.

I currently own the freehold to a motel valued approximately at $1.1 million (its a small budget motel in a rural location). The property and business has no loans or mortgage on it at all. the property is owned by my business (pty ltd) (900 k) and the business (motel name etc) is owned by my own personal family trust ( valued at 200k). I am the only shareholder in both of these entities. I pay myself and my domestic partner a annual wage each of 45k. the motel makes approx. 250k in sales with a net profit of around 150k approx.

I pay the family trust rent of approximately 50k as per my accountants advice.

the motel is a modest place and we make a modest income from it. however given the fact that I am not paying any loans out, I feel that perhaps I can work out a way of buying an investment property (small apartment or townhouse ideally) and use the business to help pay off the loan on the investment as I figured I can put the loans down as a 'business expense'.

should I be looking at buying a property through my own personal account, my business or via my family trust? I assume I would be able to somehow offset some of these loan costs via the business/trust setup?

I have no other investments or income other than the motel and really not very clued up in the world of investments - as you can probably tell from reading this! i'm very good at running a motel but when it comes to business i'm god awful terrible!

if anyone has any advice or can steer my in the right direction it would be appreciated. :)

(the investment property would be around $300k and I would be able to put down 100k of my own money for it leaving a loan amount of 200k).

James, a few things that you might consider: