Conundrum - offer before auction, or not?

I assume u have done the pest and build and other checks on the place u want to bid on tommorow ?

ta
rolf

I have the opportunity to bid at auction tomorrow on a property, however recently a deceased estate has come up, which wife loves. Agent indicated *at this stage* they won't be considering pre-auction offers.

I'd be willing to go up to the place my wife wants, but we'd also be willing to bid at the place tomorrow, if the price is right.

Q: Should I phone the Agent in the morn and make an offer at exactly the upper expected, unconditional (we'll be bidding at auction anyway if the offer isn't accepted and we have pre-approval) before the OFI tomorrow, stating that we will bid if not accepted? Good strategy, or flawed?

Please excuse my ignorance. First home and I am still learning. :)

When making a pre aucton offer Id suggest you make sure the seller knows thats it, and you WONT be bidding at auction

Otherwise, all u are doing is setting a floor for the auction.

ta
rolf

When making a pre aucton offer Id suggest you make sure the seller knows thats it, and you WONT be bidding at auction

Otherwise, all u are doing is setting a floor for the auction.

ta
rolf

Hey Rolf,

Thanks for the advice, and if you don't mind, I'll get your advice a little more...

We did not bid on the weekend - place was not right for us, however, the other I mentioned (Auction in a week) is perfect. The upper expected is 415,000, according to the agent.

As mentioned, we'd like to put in an offer prior to auction (there are other properties are on auction the day before, which we would bid on if we were sure we won't win the above).

How would you approach this? If our offer isn't accepted, we can assume it'll go 10-20% higher than the upper expected, which we can't afford, and therefore we will probably have a property even before it goes to auction.