Conveyancing Relationship

This may be slightly out of left field but thought it was worth a shot.

A couple of years ago I started studying law (LLB) part time. This arose out of an interest in the law itself, some family experiences and a good use of my spare time. I'm now around half way through the law component and coming up to study property law and conveyancing this semester.

I have a good friend who is a mortgage broker and who is willing to refer all his clients to me when I am either fully qualified as a lawyer (2.5 years) or legally able to do the work.

My idea was perhaps I could approach an existing lawyer who would be prepared to "show me the ropes" and take me on as a contractor type relationship, where we could negotiate a percentage split of the conveyancing fee. I do the work and gain the experience ahead of completing my degree, and hopefully the existing lawyer gains some easy extra revenue without the costs of adding an employee. I presume there is opportunity for other legal work via these clients in estate planning, wills, trusts etc mainly VIC/TAS based if that is important.

So legal eagles, do you think this concept could have wings?

Sounds like a great idea. The best way to do business is with other industry related professionals around you.

Get up to speed on your state's conveyancing. Your broker will be a good source of clients, but also do you part to talk to other professions (brokers or conveyancers in other states who have interstate buyers, property managers, buyers agencies, etc)

It's always far more rewarding (financially and in other ways) to work for yourself rather than for another.

So legal eagles, do you think this concept could have wings?

I wouldn't take you on because of the risks involved.

If you're lucky you might score a paralegal role where you do conveyancing, but otherwise you'd be hard pressed to find a lawyer who would let you even do it for free.

I wouldn't take you on because of the risks involved.