D.T - recovery of company taxes paid on dividends

Hi all,
Pardon if this has been asked before. ....This is my first year as sole director of a corporate trustee.

At the moment, the trust I manage receives all of its income from fully franked share dividends.

I plan to rent an apartment in the trustee name and use dividend income to pay for rent and other furnishings.

Given that I will be using franked capital for expenses, how do I recover the company tax already paid on the money spent?

Many thanks

DT = Discretionary Trust? I thought you were calling me specifically :p

Lets say some example figures of 100k worth of dividends a year with 30% franking:

Per year:
+143k in grossed up dividends (100K / 70%)
-53k in furnished apartment rental
+90k to distribute to the beneficiaries

Assume the whole 90k comes to you and wife, 45k each. You and wife both have no other incomes or expenses.

45k each attracts about 7k each in income tax payble in July... but you can then claim 15k franking credits (100k x 30% / 2) each, bringing you both down to nil tax payable.

I'm not an accountant by any means, so check with someone who is.

45k each attracts about 7k each in income tax payble in July... but you can then claim 15k franking credits (100k x 30% / 2) each, bringing you both down to nil tax payable.

If franking credits exceed the tax payable by the individual they can get them refunded too.

Hi all,
Pardon if this has been asked before. ....This is my first year as sole director of a corporate trustee.

At the moment, the trust I manage receives all of its income from fully franked share dividends.

I plan to rent an apartment in the trustee name and use dividend income to pay for rent and other furnishings.

Given that I will be using franked capital for expenses, how do I recover the company tax already paid on the money spent?

Many thanks