Debt-Serviciability-ratio

A

Anonymous

Hello,

I'm new to this site however I have been investing in property for four years. My problem is borrowing more money to obtain more properties. My first buy was a house in the Mount Druitt area in Sydney, it was cheap fibro type house which yielded a positive cashflow in two years. My second buy was a studio apartment in Paddington which is still negatively geared.

I was wondering on what criteria do banks use to assess you debt-serviceability-ratio. I am currently on a teacher's salary and on the look out for positive-cashflow properties. What percentage do the banks consider of your rental income so that they will "cancel out" your mortgage repayments?

Does anyone here work in the banking industry or know the answer how to get around this problem?

Thanks.

Sophie.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reply: 1

Hi Sophie

You have hit ( or will hit) the normal snag of not enough cashflow to service liabilites.

There is no set formula. Lenders have very different models for calculating what is an acceptable cash flow surplus.

It is also not easy to say lender a or b is best because it does really depend on other issues around the borrower - like how many kids, cars, houses, cats, dogs you have.

Lets say you have a 200 k house that you have borrowed 180 k on. The average variable interest rate is around 6.1 %. Your weekly interest only repay will therefore be $ 211 per week.

The average lender assesses rent at 75 % (some as low as 65 some as high as 100%) of actual, so now we are 1.33 x 211 = $ 280 per week.

However, the average buffer on the interest rate is 1.5 %, so our "serviceability" repayment is calculated on 7.6 % not the actual 6.1, so this is $ 263 dont forget to allow for the 75 % rental allowance so 1.33 X 263 is $ 350. So your 200 place requires a minimum of 350 rent per week to float.